Search found 22 matches

by StarshipH
Fri Jul 28, 2017 5:30 pm
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

6. Do weapons with an arming time due to Safety have to spend their turns consecutively? Once I've spent a turn arming a missile, can I hold the charge and wait to fire the missile on a later turn?
by StarshipH
Thu Jul 27, 2017 11:01 pm
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

6: Can Weapon Modifications work with Rockets? 7: If so, how does Safety interact with said rockets? Do they need to spend a turn arming? If so, do I have to declare a target like acquiring a target lock, or is it target unspecific, like arming a warhead? 8: Say I have a Size 2" AntiAir Missile Defe...
by StarshipH
Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:20 pm
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

So, for my newest army, I’ve been trying to go for a hyper technological, combined arms type of vibe. Specialized infantry squads backed up by support drones and fast, heavily armed transports. I was thinking about the Tau from Warhammer 40k and how to represent some of their coolest units. One thin...
by StarshipH
Tue Feb 09, 2016 12:41 pm
Forum: The Armoury
Topic: Franko-German Empire
Replies: 3
Views: 802

Re: Franko-German Empire

Is there any chance we could get a breakdown on those vehicle-mounted machine guns?

I can't seem to find a design I can tolerate...
by StarshipH
Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:40 pm
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Real men use both... 2" SL1 with body armor and armor plating makes them a b!tch to put down, as terminators should be.
by StarshipH
Tue Jan 26, 2016 3:27 pm
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Voin wrote: You mean like... worn armor, rather than the Armor Plating described in chapter 8?
Exactly like that, the same thing minifigs get... to add a little extra survivability to my Ti-84 terminators.
by StarshipH
Tue Jan 26, 2016 1:25 pm
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Can creations buy body armor? Size CP +2 armor -1" move?
by StarshipH
Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:00 am
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

None, really. It's just for theme. There used to be a cost break for forward-only aeronautical flight, but I took it out; maybe I should put it back in. Something like (1CP + Structure Level) per 1" Hover Flight Move, (2CP + Structure Level) per 2" Aerodynamic Flight Move. This sounds good, even th...
by StarshipH
Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:09 am
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Exactly... There seems no point in purchasing a SL2 flyer 10" of forward flight for 20 cp when 2" of flight and 8" of thrust does the same thing but better for only 4+4 = 8cp.
by StarshipH
Mon Jan 25, 2016 11:34 pm
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

:rtfm: Voin, I know they cost the same. Not to be disrespectful, I thought my hypothetical was quite clear. I apologize for using such an advanced linguistic concept. Please forgive me, English isn't my first language either, so I feel your struggle. I was merely suggesting that forward flight be ma...
by StarshipH
Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:46 pm
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

I'm probably just being an Anorak here, but whats the point of not purchasing hover flight? If a size 3 Assault Dropship can carry the same amount of weapons as a size 3 biplane, but the dropship can equip armor, I'd pick the dropship every time. What if non-hover move was 1+SL CP instead of 2+SL CP...
by StarshipH
Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:37 am
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Corollary to the 2" Shield held by a minifig, and your response of each hand gets 1": Is that to say each hand on a roughly humanoid creation (Armored Core/JuggerBunny/Titan/Bayounix Blastafarian) can wield objects of up to Size"?
by StarshipH
Thu Jan 21, 2016 5:46 pm
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

106. Fire-linked weapons: single target, multiple Skill Rolls. In Chapter 11, whats the difference between a Marksman and a Sniper? My Marksmen are usually just Long-ranged weapon troops in a squad of size 1 Guns, and my Snipers tend to be heroes with the "It's not lime-ade" cliche. How would you d...
by StarshipH
Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:24 am
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Weapon Cost Use Range Damage Notes
Close Combat Weapons
Melee Weapon (Size x2) CP (Size +1) CC (Size) x Skill die


This would suggest that a Size 2 Close Combat Weapon would have use of (2+1) but a 2-handed weapon has a use of 4. :mystery:
by StarshipH
Mon Jan 18, 2016 11:14 pm
Forum: The Rulebook
Topic: Newbish n00b questions, MkII
Replies: 816
Views: 109599

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Why would you ever use a 2-handed weapon on a minifig, when a size 2 melee weapon has lower use rating and identical damage?