BW 2010 feedback

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: IVhorseman, Pwnerade

Re: BW 2010 feedback

Postby AlAtEx » Sun May 07, 2017 11:22 am

What if I have a minifig with vehicular armor, so that he and his suit of armor are seprate units, and then I fire a 1d6 AP, 1d10 gun at him, does the 1d6 hit his armor and then the 1d10 go off inside, or does, because the minifig and his armor total to less than 1 inch in length, the 1d10 go through him too, and then hit whichever poor sap was stupid enough to stand behind him?
User avatar
AlAtEx
Battlefield General
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 2:51 pm

Re: BW 2010 feedback

Postby stubby » Mon May 08, 2017 9:00 pm

New updates today - I've started bringing the cards up to date; about halfway done with the existing ones and later on there'll be a bunch more for the new units in chapter eleven. New ones can be seen on the downloads page in the wiki: http://brikwars.com/wiki/index.php?titl ... Stat_Cards

Image

Let's see, what else has been going on. I did some clarifying on Armor Piercing dice, and added in a couple more units in the Covert category in Chapter 11. The Thief now has a cap for his CAP. Some other clarifying bits here and there, but that was the big stuff as far as I recall.

I'll get to the thread questions a little later, ran out of time for today.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4559
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: BW 2010 feedback

Postby Voin » Tue May 09, 2017 10:32 am

stubby wrote:New updates today - I've started bringing the cards up to date; about halfway done with the existing ones and later on there'll be a bunch more for the new units in chapter eleven. New ones can be seen on the downloads page in the wiki: http://brikwars.com/wiki/index.php?titl ... Stat_Cards

Image

Let's see, what else has been going on. I did some clarifying on Armor Piercing dice, and added in a couple more units in the Covert category in Chapter 11. The Thief now has a cap for his CAP. Some other clarifying bits here and there, but that was the big stuff as far as I recall.


Sweet  :D
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: BW 2010 feedback

Postby Voin » Wed May 10, 2017 2:26 am

stubby wrote:I did some clarifying on Armor Piercing dice, and added in a couple more units in the Covert category in Chapter 11.


Read through it all, looks good. Clarification looks like it covers what needs to be covered, can't wait to have a chance to use these in an actual game.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: BW 2010 feedback

Postby Voin » Wed May 10, 2017 7:21 pm

Voin wrote:[added in a couple more units in the Covert category in Chapter 11


6. So as I understand it, w/ the OutRage Bennies in response to the Infiltrator, the most efficient use for the unit would probably be as a suicide bomber (hi, CIA!) - more specifically, a suicide bomber near a high-value target??
Image


Chapter 8 wrote:One-Die Armor Piercing
At first glance, a 1d6 Armor Piercing weapon like a pickaxe or a needle pistol seems identical to a regular 1d6 weapon - even if the AP die pierces the armor, there are no follow-up dice to go through to the next target.

But there are lots of ways to add Damage to a roll, from OverSkill Damage to Bennies to MOM dice in a Charging Weapon attack. Bonus d6es added to Armor Piercing Damage are also Armor Piercing, allowing successes where a lucky dagger strike can punch through plate mail or a mighty spear thrust can skewer three minfigs in a shishkebab.


7. Ok, so I'm  a little confused.  :???:  Now is there any point to not have single-die weapons be Armor Piercing? B/c they seem like a pretty sweet deal for no additional cost.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: BW 2010 feedback

Postby stubby » Thu May 11, 2017 7:23 am

Voin wrote:6. So as I understand it, w/ the OutRage Bennies in response to the Infiltrator, the most efficient use for the unit would probably be as a suicide bomber (hi, CIA!) - more specifically, a suicide bomber near a high-value target?

Yes. If the enemy has stationed a suicide bomber next to a high-value target, he would be a good guy to reveal as a traitor. That's probably not a super common event, but if you're handed the opportunity then go crazy.

But a traitor who could immediately steal an attack helicopter or something is pretty valuable too. The use of an attack helicopter is worth the cost of letting the enemy spend an instant benny each turn.


Voin wrote:Ok, so I'm  a little confused.  :???:  Now is there any point to not have single-die weapons be Armor Piercing? B/c they seem like a pretty sweet deal for no additional cost.

You can have all single-die weapons be armor piercing if you want. You're going to find that it's not that great though. Thanks to Overkill, extra damage after killing a target already goes on to the next target regardless; the only thing Armor Piercing changes is that it lets you go on to the next target without killing the first target. It changes a lot of one-target-one-kill results to two-targets-two-flesh-wounds instead.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4559
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: BW 2010 feedback

Postby Voin » Thu May 11, 2017 12:11 pm

stubby wrote:[
You can have all single-die weapons be armor piercing if you want. You're going to find that it's not that great though. Thanks to Overkill, extra damage after killing a target already goes on to the next target regardless; the only thing Armor Piercing changes is that it lets you go on to the next target without killing the first target. It changes a lot of one-target-one-kill results to two-targets-two-flesh-wounds instead.


Right. So if an AP bullet deals 4 or less damage to an unarmored minifig, it wouldn't kill them any more than a regular would, but passes through. If it deals 5 or more, it passes through, possibly affecting things on the other side.

How would AP work w/ Squads & combined fire?
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: BW 2010 feedback

Postby stubby » Thu May 11, 2017 1:06 pm

Voin wrote:
stubby wrote:You can have all single-die weapons be armor piercing if you want. You're going to find that it's not that great though. Thanks to Overkill, extra damage after killing a target already goes on to the next target regardless; the only thing Armor Piercing changes is that it lets you go on to the next target without killing the first target. It changes a lot of one-target-one-kill results to two-targets-two-flesh-wounds instead.

Right. So if an AP bullet deals 4 or less damage to an unarmored minifig, it wouldn't kill them any more than a regular would, but passes through. If it deals 5 or more, it passes through, possibly affecting things on the other side.

Right. For a cherry-picked example, say you had 2d6 damage and roll two threes. With AP damage, the first 3 would hit the first guy, not killing him, and the second three would hit the second guy, also not killing him. With non-AP damage, both threes hit the first guy, killing him.

Voin wrote:How would AP work w/ Squads & combined fire?

Same as any other kind of Overkill.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4559
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: BW 2010 feedback

Postby SynchingShip » Mon May 29, 2017 6:56 pm

Chapter 11 wrote:The Saboteur's player can then activate it at any time, even if the Saboteur himself is dead or on vacation. The Sabotage can activate with the same effect as one of the Engineer's negative Mods, without any need for Rationalizing or minimum stat requirements, or it can be a simple one-use Booby Trap doing d8 Blast Damage to whoever touches it or to the Sabotaged object (and to anything else in the firing arc; treat it as an Automatic Hit from a BlastGun with zero Range).


So wait, can the Blast Damage Booby Trap be activated at any time too, or is that on-contact only? Also, how exactly does "zero Range" work? Does it just do the d8 damage to the thing that touched it & nothing else?

P.S. Does it cost anything to get into a vehicle other than the physical move in inches?
User avatar
SynchingShip
Champion
Champion
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: BW 2010 feedback

Postby dilanski » Tue May 30, 2017 6:20 am

Out of interest, will we be getting matching art for the Medik, Gunner and Mechanik cards? We have the Hospital 555 for the Medik card, surely there is a Brikwars piece with a Gunner and Mechanik in it.

SynchingShip wrote:P.S. Does it cost anything to get into a vehicle other than the physical move in inches?


I believe opening doors counts as a Move actions, and so does sitting down. Unless you have some complex entry or seating mechanism, which would potentially reduce you to half speed. Just being in proximity of a set of controls should be enough to allow you to operate a construction.
Make June The End of May
User avatar
dilanski
Now with added tractor fetish
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:41 am
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain & Subjugated Ireland

Previous

Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest