Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: IVhorseman, Pwnerade

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Mon Oct 10, 2016 5:11 pm

Gungnir wrote:Can you use SN dice to add range to melee weapons?

If it fits your cliche. I can think of examples of anime swordsmen cutting skyscrapers or mountains in half.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4947
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Tzan » Mon Oct 10, 2016 6:38 pm

One Punch Man
User avatar
Tzan
Has anyone ever used those holes before?
Has anyone ever used those holes before?
 
Posts: 4324
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 4:41 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Fri Oct 14, 2016 9:47 am

Voin wrote:6. Does it cost any move for a minifig to peer out from behind cover, make a ranged attack, & immediately duck back behind it (think like the corner of a wall or castle crenelations/battlements)? Is it an Angry Inch, or does that only apply to CC attacks?

Probably not? If his feet are staying planted, it probably doesn't cost inches. Enemies can use Response Actions to take potshots while his head is poking out. Angry Inches are just for CC though.

Voin wrote:7. Can a Field Hazard do component damage if it's in a small enough radius? (i.e. a magma-monster lands on a bunker & proceeds to melt its way in).

Whatever seems appropriate. For a lot of Field Hazards, component damage makes more sense than size damage.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4947
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Rev. Sylvanus » Wed Oct 19, 2016 9:05 am

This thread seems more appropriate for some questions rather than the 2010 one.

6. I hear it said on a number of occasions that a mounted minifig, for the purposes of weapons he or she might be holding, assumes the effective size of the mount. Prime example, a rider on a 2" horse may hold a lance (two handed weapon) in one had without penalty. Will the same hold true for, say, a 2" crossbow? May the fig hold it in one hand due to effective size while riding?

7. Let's say for whatever reason my hero is huge, a giant who towers at 4". When calling a red shirt, does the red shirt have to be within 1d6" of the source of the damage my hero is sustaining? Or 1d6" away from any part of my giant hero?

8. New limitations on on minifig armor means no "jumping, swimming, flying." Does "no jumping" mean an armored dude can't "leap" in the way of an attack to red shirt?
For Your Reading Pleasure: Rev's Battle Reports

Reference Sheets: Animals and Mounts / Medieval Weapons

Factions: Dragon Guard / Hiimboredagain Raiders
User avatar
Rev. Sylvanus
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:14 pm
Location: Appalachia

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:00 pm

Rev. Sylvanus wrote:6. I hear it said on a number of occasions that a mounted minifig, for the purposes of weapons he or she might be holding, assumes the effective size of the mount. Prime example, a rider on a 2" horse may hold a lance (two handed weapon) in one had without penalty. Will the same hold true for, say, a 2" crossbow? May the fig hold it in one hand due to effective size while riding?

I'd say a ranged weapon would have to be mounted to the horse somehow. The lance example only works in a joust; obviously in real terms the power of the lance is coming from the motion of the horse, not the strength of the minifig. If the horse is standing still the minifig can't fight with the lance in any useful way, so he's not actually assuming the effective size of the mount for anything except jousting.

Rev. Sylvanus wrote:7. Let's say for whatever reason my hero is huge, a giant who towers at 4". When calling a red shirt, does the red shirt have to be within 1d6" of the source of the damage my hero is sustaining? Or 1d6" away from any part of my giant hero?

The 1d6" is the inspiration distance, not the redshirt leaping distance, so any part of the giant should do. This will give you opportunities to explain how the redshirt was especially inspired by the giant's left foot.

Rev. Sylvanus wrote:8. New limitations on on minifig armor means no "jumping, swimming, flying." Does "no jumping" mean an armored dude can't "leap" in the way of an attack to red shirt?

Oh, that's a good question. The redshirt rules do say that a redshirting unit must be capable of leaping, so that would now rule out anyone wearing armor. But ideally I'd want guys in regular Body Armor to be able to redshirt and guys in Heavy armor to not be able to, so I'm going to give that some thought.

One of the units I plan to add to chapter 11 is the Bodyguard; maybe one of his perks will be that he can redshirt even if he's wearing body armor (secret service guy in a bulletproof vest, for instance).
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4947
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby bann154 » Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:15 pm

Ok i have a quick question. How would one represent scatter in game? For things such as mortars and artillery that does not have line of sight.
My Factions/My Battles/My Painting and Modelling Adventures
A mind without purpose will wander in dark places
User avatar
bann154
bann is the mann
 
Posts: 891
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 11:06 am
Location: Canada Eh?

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Rev. Sylvanus » Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:25 pm

stubby wrote:One of the units I plan to add to chapter 11 is the Bodyguard; maybe one of his perks will be that he can redshirt even if he's wearing body armor (secret service guy in a bulletproof vest, for instance).


That is one elegant work around. Another option could be to add a note at the end of the first paragraph about redshirting like: "The inspiration to RedShirt is so powerful that even minifigs in armor (who normally may not leap) can find the strength to sacrifice themselves." That is, if the desire ultimately is that even armored units should be allowed.
For Your Reading Pleasure: Rev's Battle Reports

Reference Sheets: Animals and Mounts / Medieval Weapons

Factions: Dragon Guard / Hiimboredagain Raiders
User avatar
Rev. Sylvanus
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:14 pm
Location: Appalachia

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:34 pm

bann154 wrote:Ok i have a quick question. How would one represent scatter in game? For things such as mortars and artillery that does not have line of sight.

Standard missed shot rules. You're at -5 if you can't see the target (and you don't have a Scout spotting for you), and your opponent decides where it lands.

Image

For "true" random scatter, though, the Stumble Die is your friend. Direction and inches, all in one die roll.

Rev. Sylvanus wrote:Another option could be to add a note at the end of the first paragraph about redshirting like: "The inspiration to RedShirt is so powerful that even minifigs in armor (who normally may not leap) can find the strength to sacrifice themselves." That is, if the desire ultimately is that even armored units should be allowed.

What I'll most likely do is say that Body Armor units can jump, Heavy Armor units can't; problem solved.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4947
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Rev. Sylvanus » Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:25 pm

Slightly related question now. Let's say a squad is full of heavy armored figs. Can they still take advantage of Swap, or does swapping also require the ability to leap?
For Your Reading Pleasure: Rev's Battle Reports

Reference Sheets: Animals and Mounts / Medieval Weapons

Factions: Dragon Guard / Hiimboredagain Raiders
User avatar
Rev. Sylvanus
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:14 pm
Location: Appalachia

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Fri Oct 28, 2016 11:17 am

Rev. Sylvanus wrote:Slightly related question now. Let's say a squad is full of heavy armored figs. Can they still take advantage of Swap, or does swapping also require the ability to leap?

They can Swap just fine, with the justification that enemies weren't paying enough attention to know exactly who was where in your squad, rather than units actually physically changing places.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4947
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:49 am

Voin wrote:How would we plausibly depict those kinds of heroes in Brikwars - Superhero Team (usually w/ unique weapons & vehicles) vs bad guy army? I've thought about making them go w/ SN dice instead, but then that kinda loses the whole Heroic Feat feel.

My usual answer to this is that you give them a Feat AND some SN dice, but after some of piltogg's adventures I've been thinking there's room for a Specialty: Invincible. Like this unit will never, ever lose a fight unless the player voluntarily sacrifices him for a big bonus towards some higher goal. The trick then is to design the battle so that just winning fights doesn't win the battle (so not "can you kill all enemies" but rather "can you save the sacrificial victims and capture the BrikThulhic priest before the summoning is complete" or something).
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4947
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Captain-Camper » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:59 pm

Rescue mission! Great, are fetch quests next?
"Tallyho lads, snuggle the houses and burn the women! Leave not a single potted plant alive! Full speed ahead and damn the cheesemongers"
User avatar
Captain-Camper
seriously?
 
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 4:17 am
Location: Here and There Along the Echo

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:09 am

Well right now I'm thinking "Specialty: Invincible: This character ignores all damage. Cost: Special: Scenario battles only." Short and sweet. He can still be knocked down, delayed, or distracted. Making it work would be less about baking checks and balances into the specialty itself, and more about players setting up a battle where an invincible character can still lose even if he can't die: infinite enemy mooks, time limits, escapes to prevent, targets to protect, etc.

On top of that, I'd also want a "The Ultimate Sacrifice" ability where the Invincible unit gets a chance to narrate his own heroic death in service to the cause. This would give him a final Feat, or the chance to negotiate a Kanon point immediately, or to get a handful of Inspiration instant bonus dice for his team. It's a funny enough idea to maybe extend to Heroes and Leaders also, now that I think about it.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4947
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby bann154 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 4:12 pm

So explosives have an area of effect 2" for each size it is so is the AoE measured from the center 1" in each direction for a size 1 explosive or does it do its AoE in each direction 2" measured from the center with a size 1 explosive
My Factions/My Battles/My Painting and Modelling Adventures
A mind without purpose will wander in dark places
User avatar
bann154
bann is the mann
 
Posts: 891
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 11:06 am
Location: Canada Eh?

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:37 pm

2" in each direction. It's a 2" radius, 4" diameter.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4947
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

PreviousNext

Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron