Page 11 of 55

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:06 pm
by Kirillyos
stubby wrote:
Kirillyos wrote:But in games like BrikWars, things tend to be simplified,

It's true. That's why it's probably better to use the existing rules that already exactly match the situation rather than making up new ones.


Ahhh - touché.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:50 am
by stubby
Yeah! I won an argument on the Internet!

Now I'm finished being a winner, you can really do whatever you want. 1d10 within an Arc, why not.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:28 am
by Tzan
Congrats on winning an internet!


I found a video that explains that skeet thing.
The real genius part is the wobbling.
I wish Billy Mays was the narrator.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myuZUxS3Uww

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:41 pm
by Kirillyos
stubby wrote:There used to be a sidebar option for replacing the d10s in an Explosive with any other die and keeping the other stats the same. I'm not sure what happened to it, but it would let you replace (for instance) a one-use 2d10 Explosive with a one-use 2d4 Incendiary or a one-use 2d8 Blast.


If anyone finds that sidebar, I'd be grateful for having it forwarded my way.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 11:04 am
by Kirillyos
77. So lemme get this straight: Launchers with explosives have theoretically infinite range when you consider:

a) despite out-of-range penalties to Skill rolls, something shot out of a Launcher has to come down somewhere

b) explosives do their own damage, not penalized by being out-of-range

right?

78. "Minifig Throwing Arms" are mentioned as weapons in their own right built directly into the minifig. Am I correct in assuming that I can have other "part of the minifig" weapons simply by spending CP, and not necessarily changing the shape of the fig, such as a Dragonborn's mouth being a sonic BlastGun, a pyromancer's hands being Flamethrowers, or a monk's feet being Melee Weapons?

Image

79. Does a Pilot's ability to maneuver and fire weapons in the same turn also extend to the operator of a remotely-piloted drone?

80. Is there a designated repository for custom Stat Cards somewhere in the forum?

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 12:24 pm
by stubby
Kirillyos wrote:77. So lemme get this straight: Launchers with explosives have theoretically infinite range

All ranged weapons have theoretically infinite range, yes. Feel free to take advantage of this fact; just don't forget how Missed Shots work.

Kirillyos wrote:Am I correct in assuming that I can have other "part of the minifig" weapons simply by spending CP, and not necessarily changing the shape of the fig, such as a Dragonborn's mouth being a sonic BlastGun, a pyromancer's hands being Flamethrowers, or a monk's feet being Melee Weapons?

Yes. A minifig is a Creature like any other, so you can give them extra weapons and abilities like any Creature. Just remember that if a monk tries to Parry with his melee-weapon feet then he still takes damage.

Kirillyos wrote: Does a Pilot's ability to maneuver and fire weapons in the same turn also extend to the operator of a remotely-piloted drone?

Probably? I'd put this one to a what I say goes roll.

Kirillyos wrote:Is there a designated repository for custom Stat Cards somewhere in the forum?

There was a page on the old wiki for them. I don't think there's one in the new wiki yet.
http://brikwars.wikispaces.com/Stat+Cards
Stat Cards

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 3:57 pm
by Kirillyos
81. Can a weapon pull dual (or more) functions if I paid the CP cost for all included modes?

For example

- a tank cannon (Gun) that also fires antipersonnel canister shot (BlastGun)
- a futuristic/magikal weapon with multiple settings
- a shotgun (BlastGun) that also fires slugs (Gun), Dragon-Breath shells (FlameThrower), and 12-gauge CS penetrator grenades (Launcher)

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:35 pm
by stubby
I don't see why not. The rule that you can only use it once per turn would still apply of course, no matter how many modes it had to choose from for that one use.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:10 pm
by Zupponn
82. What about a gun that shoots badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers that shoot guns that shoot badgers?

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:29 pm
by Tzan
Turn 1 you shoot your B-Gun, a badger pops out holding a gun.

Turn 2 you shoot your gun again and the badger shoots his, 2 badgers pop out holding guns

etc...

So really nothing happens except the game area gets filled with badgers holding guns.
They stand around holding their guns, waiting to be killed.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 3:58 pm
by Kirillyos
83. Or how about just a rocket launcher launcher launcher...?

Each staged projectile launched would be a launcher in it's own right that after traveling 12" would launch a submuniton which would launch another projectile, etc.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 7:59 pm
by Apollyon
Btw, have you ever played an actual game of Brikwars so far Kyrillios?

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 9:00 pm
by stubby
Apollyon wrote:Btw, have you ever played an actual game of Brikwars so far Kyrillios?

lol owned

Anyway remember that a Launcher has to be twice the size of any Payload it launches. So to fire a Size 2" Launcher (the smallest with Range 12"), you would need to fire a Size 4" Launcher with Use:8. To fire that Launcher you'd need to fire a Size 8" Launcher with Use:16. And so forth. So feel free, but don't expect to be very successful.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:44 am
by Silverdream
You could always build a big one like the ones NASA uses. I don't think it would be very useful in ground battles but it could be useful in Caid sector type battles.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2013 12:30 pm
by Kirillyos
stubby wrote:
Apollyon wrote:Btw, have you ever played an actual game of Brikwars so far Kyrillios?

lol owned


lol no - there's an ongoing game sitting less than a foot away from me on the table at this very moment.

stubby wrote:Anyway remember that a Launcher has to be twice the size of any Payload it launches. So to fire a Size 2" Launcher (the smallest with Range 12"), you would need to fire a Size 4" Launcher with Use:8. To fire that Launcher you'd need to fire a Size 8" Launcher with Use:16. And so forth. So feel free, but don't expect to be very successful.


~facepalm~ it was a joke bouncing off the badger post - I already knew that the stages would need to pyramid (duh). Of course the funniest part was 'polly up there missing the point and being booty bothered about it.