Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: IVhorseman, Pwnerade

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Voin » Thu Aug 28, 2014 2:54 pm

stubby wrote:Beautiful. I need to go home and see if I have enough of these guys to get this formation in a photograph.


Thank you! But before you attempt it, you should know that due to the limitations of minifig articulation (they can't lift their arms above their heads), I had to give them "cheat sticks" to make the testudo formation happen.

Image

stubby wrote:Current draft rules:

Heavy Infantry
Skill: 1d6
Move: 4"
Armor: 4

Specialty: Phalanx (+1CP)
Heavy Infantry specialize in coordinated use of Heavy Shields. If a Phalanx unit is in a Squad between two other Phalanx units, all with Heavy Shields pointed in the same direction, then they have formed a Shield Wall. For the Phalanx unit or units in the middle (but not the units on the ends!), all Damage from the other side of the Shield Wall is automatically Parried. This does not spend any of the unit's Actions or Counters; it happens automatically.

Even without a Shield Wall, if a Phalanx unit is in a Squad with at least one other Phalanx unit, and both have Shields or Heavy Shields, then they receive a +1 to all Parry rolls.

A Phalanx Squad cannot be forced to engage in a Melee through a Shield Wall. If they are forced to engage in Melee from an attack on one of their un-Shielded sides, or if they choose to drop the Shield Wall and engage in a Melee voluntarily, the Shield Wall is disrupted and any Phalanx benefits are canceled for as long as they are in Melee.

Specialty: March (+1CP)
If a Marching unit is in a Squad with at least one other Marching unit, they can March in formation, walking at normal speed and ignoring Movement penalties from Body Armor or Heavy Armor. Marching is walking only - units cannot jump, Sprint, or climb in the same turn as Marching, although they can still Bail if necessary. Marching does not cost an Action.


I'll have to try these out with my legionaries and let you know how it goes.
Shamelessly blatant self-promotion: check out my armory, where you can find new custom abilities and battle-gear stats, and my MOCPages page, which I really ought to update more often.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Thu Aug 28, 2014 2:59 pm

Current Heavy Infantry draft rules:

Heavy Infantry
Skill: 1d6
Move: 4"
Armor: 4

Specialty: Phalanx (+1CP)
Heavy Infantry specialize in coordinated use of Heavy Shields. If a Phalanx unit is in a Squad between two other Phalanx units, all with Heavy Shields pointed in the same direction, then they have formed a Shield Wall. For the Phalanx unit or units in the middle (but not the units on the ends!), all Damage from the other side of the Shield Wall is automatically Parried. This does not spend any of the unit's Actions or Counters; it happens automatically.

Even without a Shield Wall, if a Phalanx unit is in a Squad with at least one other Phalanx unit, and both have Shields or Heavy Shields, then they receive a +1 to all Parry rolls.

A Phalanx Squad cannot be forced to engage in a Melee through a Shield Wall. If they are forced to engage in Melee from an attack on one of their un-Shielded sides, or if they choose to drop the Shield Wall and engage in a Melee voluntarily, the Shield Wall is disrupted and any Phalanx benefits are canceled for as long as they are in Melee.

Specialty: March (+1CP)
If a Marching unit is in a Squad with at least one other Marching unit, they can March in formation, walking at normal speed and ignoring Movement penalties from Body Armor or Heavy Armor. Marching is walking only - units cannot jump, Sprint, or climb in the same turn as Marching, although they can still Bail if necessary. Marching does not cost an Action.


Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4606
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Voin » Thu Aug 28, 2014 3:10 pm

Also, for parts that aren't available on [url=ldraw.org]LDraw[/url], try http://www.digital-bricks.de/en/index.php?site=nil

Not all of them work properly, so it's kinda trial-and-error, but most of them do, so it's worth adding them to an LDraw Library on a case-by-case basis.
Shamelessly blatant self-promotion: check out my armory, where you can find new custom abilities and battle-gear stats, and my MOCPages page, which I really ought to update more often.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Voin » Thu Aug 28, 2014 3:50 pm

Question: For a regular minifig (5" move) rocking both a two-handed weapon (-1" move), and heavy armor (Half-speed), how do we calculate it's move?

A. (5" - 1")/2 = 2"

or

B. (5"/2)-1= 1.5"

Basically, I wondering in which order move penalties should be applied.

In the last battle I played, my friend had a troop like that, and I let him take the more generous option, simply because half-inches were a pain in the as to keep track of on a battle grid. Of course once he slaughtered enough of my guys to make a sea of corpses, it counted as rough terrain, which he couldn't move through (double half-movement penalties), so the joke's on him.  :lol:
Shamelessly blatant self-promotion: check out my armory, where you can find new custom abilities and battle-gear stats, and my MOCPages page, which I really ought to update more often.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Battlegrinder » Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:03 pm

Voin wrote:Question: For a regular minifig (5" move) rocking both a two-handed weapon (-1" move), and heavy armor (Half-speed), how do we calculate it's move?

A. (5" - 1")/2 = 2"

or

B. (5"/2)-1= 1.5"

Basically, I wondering in which order move penalties should be applied.

In the last battle I played, my friend had a troop like that, and I let him take the more generous option, simply because half-inches were a pain in the as to keep track of on a battle grid.


I think you just answered your own question. When in doubt, favor the method that results in faster gameplay.


Voin wrote:Of course once he slaughtered enough of my guys to make a sea of corpses, it counted as rough terrain, which he couldn't move through (double half-movement penalties), so the joke's on him.  :lol:


Ah, the Valhallan Stratagem. Classic.
User avatar
Battlegrinder
Dimmy
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:52 pm
Location: Quincy, Illinois

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby IVhorseman » Thu Aug 28, 2014 7:03 pm

Oh man, that march specialty is cool. It grants heavy armor mobility sure, but you have to be a big fat obvious tank to do it!
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Thu Aug 28, 2014 8:06 pm

Voin wrote:Question: For a regular minifig (5" move) rocking both a two-handed weapon (-1" move), and heavy armor (Half-speed), how do we calculate it's move?

A. (5" - 1")/2 = 2"

or

B. (5"/2)-1= 1.5"

Basically, I wondering in which order move penalties should be applied.

Move penalties affect the Move stat, not Movement. A minifig (5" Move) with a 2H Weapon (-1" Move) has 4" of Move.

Half Speed affects Movement, not the Move stat. Half Speed means that every inch of Movement costs 2" of Move.

A unit moving at Half Speed spends 4" of Move on 2" of Movement.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4606
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Voin » Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:12 am

stubby wrote:Move penalties affect the Move stat, not Movement.


I have only at this moment been notified that those are two different things.
Shamelessly blatant self-promotion: check out my armory, where you can find new custom abilities and battle-gear stats, and my MOCPages page, which I really ought to update more often.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:22 am

4.1: Movement wrote:Half Speed
Actions that actively burden a minifig, such as wearing Heavy Armor, carrying or dragging a heavy object (up to the size of a minifig or 2x4 brick), or engaging in difficult movement requiring the use of both arms (swimming, crawling, climbing ropes, etc.) will reduce a minifig's Movement to Half Speed. For a minifig moving at Half Speed, all Movement costs twice the usual number of Move inches - that is to say, moving two physical inches across the battlefield costs four Move inches.

Maybe I'll add a little clarification box in the sidebar or something.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4606
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Voin » Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:26 pm

I also do a lot of other tabletop games -both as GameMaster and player - Pathfinder, D&D, d20 Modern, Mutants & Masterminds, etc, so after a while the rules, numbers, and dice just kinda start blurring together in my head, and I end up thinking of BW rules terms as analogous to PF.
Shamelessly blatant self-promotion: check out my armory, where you can find new custom abilities and battle-gear stats, and my MOCPages page, which I really ought to update more often.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Legofighter » Wed Sep 03, 2014 7:13 am

I have a question as well. Say one minifig fires at three enemy figs that are all really close next to each other. Now say said attacker rolls an incredible 13 for damage. Is that enough to kill all three or only 2? (or if you prefer, does killing a fig reduce the damage done by the figs' armor value or by the figs' armor value+1)?

EDIT: I tend to use the second option, but I've seen people using the first so that's why I'm asking
From the frigid cold of Canada, -40 year long.
User avatar
Legofighter
Officer
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:42 pm
Location: Frozen land of Canada

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Gungnir » Wed Sep 03, 2014 8:22 am

I'd say it kills them. You don't have to do a whole point of damage over their armor rating, you just have to beat it.
That 1/3 for each fig is enough to kill them. Or at least seriously wound them.
BrikThulhu eats 1d6 minifigs each turn.
User avatar
Gungnir
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby silasw » Wed Sep 03, 2014 10:34 am

See the Overkill section here.

It's enough damage, although you might not be able to hit all three with a regular gun unless they were in a line.
TROLOLO
silasw
Warrior King
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:25 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Gungnir » Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:38 pm

silasw wrote:...Although you might not be able to hit all three with a regular gun unless they were in a line.

I always assumed that minifigs fired a few shots when making a ranged attack. Otherwise, the way attacks on squads work wouldn't make sense.
BrikThulhu eats 1d6 minifigs each turn.
User avatar
Gungnir
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Wed Sep 03, 2014 1:54 pm

Legofighter wrote:I have a question as well. Say one minifig fires at three enemy figs that are all really close next to each other. Now say said attacker rolls an incredible 13 for damage. Is that enough to kill all three or only 2? (or if you prefer, does killing a fig reduce the damage done by the figs' armor value or by the figs' armor value+1)?

If the enemy figs are all in the line of the attack (being close to each other doesn't matter, the only thing that matters is whether they're in the path of the damage), then this is almost exactly the example given in the Overkill rules.

http://www.brikwars.com/rules/2010/7.htm#2

7.2: Taking Damage wrote:Image
12 points of Damage is enough to kill multiple minifigs if they happen to be standing in the line of fire.

12 Damage kills the first minifig. After overcoming his 4 Armor, 8 points of Overkill Damage remain.

8 Damage kills the second minifig. After overcoming his 4 Armor, 4 points of Overkill Damage remain.

4 Damage is enough to match the third minifig's Armor but not defeat it. The remaining minifigs survive.



Gungnir wrote:I always assumed that minifigs fired a few shots when making a ranged attack. Otherwise, the way attacks on squads work wouldn't make sense.


Nope. One shot, one target. How do squads not make sense? It's still one attack, one target (in the squad). If you're dividing a single attack between multiple squad members then you're doing it wrong.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4606
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

PreviousNext

Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests