Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: IVhorseman, Pwnerade

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Wed Sep 24, 2014 10:04 pm

No, they're still SL1.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4556
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Gungnir » Wed Sep 24, 2014 11:02 pm

You can pretty much fire any chunk of terrain as long as your loaders can reach it and carry it, and it fits in the launcher.
BrikThulhu eats 1d6 minifigs each turn.
User avatar
Gungnir
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby lawmaster » Sun Sep 28, 2014 12:58 am

You can fire anything assuming it will be awesome.
You are faced with door what do you do
I use my flamethrower
wait what you can't do that
Sure I can see
*door catches fire*
User avatar
lawmaster
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 829
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 10:32 am
Location: Over the rainbow

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Battlegrinder » Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:49 pm

Regarding large scale automatic weapons, like a size 3 auto-cannon, I want to make sure I'm understanding how they interact with their target's armor when fired in burst mode. As I read it, the target (say, a tank with 3d10 armor) makes it armor roll, then you roll use and damage for the number of shots the auto-cannon is firing, and then apply each roll consecutively to the target.

So if the target's armor roll is 18, and the cannon rolls 8, 12, and 9, a total of 11 damage would be applied to the target (2 from the 2nd shot, and then 9 from the last round), rather than each shot of the burst failing to breach the armor. Am I correct?
User avatar
Battlegrinder
Dimmy
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:52 pm
Location: Quincy, Illinois

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Gungnir » Sun Oct 12, 2014 12:39 am

Battlegrinder wrote: Am I correct?

Yes. It's one attack, so all the damage is added up.
BrikThulhu eats 1d6 minifigs each turn.
User avatar
Gungnir
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Sun Oct 12, 2014 1:28 pm

As long as all the attacks hit. If one of the attack rolls misses, but is still close enough that the shot hits the tank anyway, it's counted as a separate attack.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4556
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Voin » Tue Oct 14, 2014 8:08 am

Can energy shield projectors shield things other than the unit that made the shield? Like a planetside shield protecting a fully armed and operational battle station or a Dungan battle-dino shielding a horde of Jaw-Jaws from their inevitable demise?

I know the rulebook says
Energy Shields must be created by Shield Projectors somewhere on the surface of the Creation they protect.
, but is there any way besides using SN dice to mimic the projector from RotJ?

Image

Image

Can multiple overlapping energy shields be "linked" to form an "energy shield wall" like in Guardians of the Galaxy?

Image

The Knockback section says "
Whenever a large Weapon hits a small target, it causes KnockBack similar to a Collision or Explosion, regardless of whether the target survives the damage. Any time a Weapon is larger than the Size of a target it strikes, the target is Knocked Back one inch for every inch of difference between the Weapon Size and the target's Effective Size, with the usual potential for being Disrupted as a result."

So since minifigs (being size 1") get pushed (but not quite suffering KnockBack) from Size 1.5" Heavy Weapons, would they also get pushed back from Bastard ranged weapons?

If a player pays the CP cost for both a CC weapon and a ranged weapon (say, in the form of a hatchet or spear), can they treat it as both a CC and ranged weapon?
Shamelessly blatant self-promotion: check out my armory, where you can find new custom abilities and battle-gear stats, and my MOCPages page, which I really ought to update more often.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:55 pm

Voin wrote:Can energy shield projectors shield things other than the unit that made the shield? Like a planetside shield protecting a fully armed and operational battle station or a Dungan battle-dino shielding a horde of Jaw-Jaws from their inevitable demise?

I know the rulebook says
Energy Shields must be created by Shield Projectors somewhere on the surface of the Creation they protect.
, but is there any way besides using SN dice to mimic the projector from RotJ?

Can multiple overlapping energy shields be "linked" to form an "energy shield wall" like in Guardians of the Galaxy?

Probably, but I don't think I want to make "official" rules about it. The ROTJ shield works a lot better as a unique scenario objective than as standard tactical equipment. For these I'd just suggest players make up ad hoc house rules depending on how they imagine shields to work in their own Kanon.

Voin wrote:The Knockback section says "
Whenever a large Weapon hits a small target, it causes KnockBack similar to a Collision or Explosion, regardless of whether the target survives the damage. Any time a Weapon is larger than the Size of a target it strikes, the target is Knocked Back one inch for every inch of difference between the Weapon Size and the target's Effective Size, with the usual potential for being Disrupted as a result."

So since minifigs (being size 1") get pushed (but not quite suffering KnockBack) from Size 1.5" Heavy Weapons, would they also get pushed back from Bastard ranged weapons?

Yes, the ShotGun specifically has 1" of KnockBack to minifigs ( http://www.brikwars.com/rules/2010/8.htm#1 ).

Voin wrote:If a player pays the CP cost for both a CC weapon and a ranged weapon (say, in the form of a hatchet or spear), can they treat it as both a CC and ranged weapon?

Yes. Most commonly seen on rifle+bayonet.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4556
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Voin » Tue Oct 14, 2014 2:02 pm

That seems fair. I'd probably have remote projectors cost more than on-board ones, and make players pay for the range. Otherwise it'd be too easy to eschew the opportunity cost of energy shields by having all your guys shielded by a fortified remote projector (and that would be grounds for a remideal sportsmanship beating).


How long can a minifig hold it's breath (for swimming underwater or avoiding smelling their roommate's burrito farts)? Skill Roll number of rounds?
Shamelessly blatant self-promotion: check out my armory, where you can find new custom abilities and battle-gear stats, and my MOCPages page, which I really ought to update more often.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby IVhorseman » Tue Oct 14, 2014 2:07 pm

Voin wrote:Skill Roll number of rounds?


Yes. This is true for many circumstances of endurance.
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Voin » Tue Oct 14, 2014 2:14 pm

Makes sense. Is there a note about that in the official rules? Because if not, there probably should be.
Shamelessly blatant self-promotion: check out my armory, where you can find new custom abilities and battle-gear stats, and my MOCPages page, which I really ought to update more often.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Voin » Wed Oct 15, 2014 2:13 am

What would be a good way to handle transforming units? Would I pay full cost for both forms? Would there be a discount (since I'm not fielding 2 separate units)? Would there be a premium for the versatility? Would those cost factors cancel each other out?

Some common examples:

Werewolf Man ->Hybrid Wolfman form -> Wolf

Vampire -> bat, wolf, red mist

Unassuming scientist -> Hulking brute

Truck -> Giant Robot

Magic person (wizard, witch, druid) -> animal form



Can mobile exposure damage field hazards powered by a creation be used offensively?
Examples:

- A pyromancer surrounding himself with an aura of immolation and charging straight into a flash-mob.

- A spaceship activating an exposure damage energy field (not a "defensive" shield, per se), and ramming an enemy vessel.

If I have a spaceship with one such "vaporizer" shield activated, and an enemy fires a small missile at it (1d10 explosive), does that count as Size 1 against my Hazard Dice limits or Size 0?
Shamelessly blatant self-promotion: check out my armory, where you can find new custom abilities and battle-gear stats, and my MOCPages page, which I really ought to update more often.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Gungnir » Wed Oct 15, 2014 4:58 am

Voin wrote:What would be a good way to handle transforming units?

I stat out the two forms in a way that they would cost the same if they were separate units.
A transforming robot, for example, would be faster in vehicle mode, but it would just be a vehicle with a mind, and would only have access to its weapons in robot mode.
Voin wrote:Can mobile exposure damage field hazards powered by a creation be used offensively?

Sure, why not?
BrikThulhu eats 1d6 minifigs each turn.
User avatar
Gungnir
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:13 am

For transforming creations, pay the cost of whichever form is most expensive. Transformation can only take place at the beginning of your turn, and costs an Action.

This question comes up often enough that I really need to add it to the rulebook somewhere.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4556
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Voin » Wed Oct 15, 2014 12:27 pm

- Do objects that get knocked back by an explosion (shrapnel) deal damage (if they're big enough to do at least one Mom of it)?

- Can range SN Dice be spent to extend or shorten a Scout's detection range (or emulate long-range scanners / sensor-jammers)

- Do Size 1 Explosives (1d10 bombs and rockets) count as Size 1" or Size 0 for determining if they overload a Field Hazard?

- Does an army's full capabilities have to be made known to all participants at the start of a battle? Or can there be "surprises", as long as the player has the stats written down somewhere (for peer review after the battle) and paid the cost fair and square?

Like if someone's "unarmed" transport suddenly had gun turrets pop out from hidden hatches - would that player have to let that be openly known before the battle begin, or can they relish the look on their opponent's faces when they open fire? Or if minifigs in one's army have specialties bought into them that aren't obvious?

Not looking to cheat, just to allow cunning players to work in a bit of an edge and encourage clever construction and suspenseful turns of events in battles.
Shamelessly blatant self-promotion: check out my armory, where you can find new custom abilities and battle-gear stats, and my MOCPages page, which I really ought to update more often.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: De-facto Greater Kekistani Republic Ethnostate, in Diaspora/Holy Kekkan Empire

PreviousNext

Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests