Page 1 of 1

Bonus Dice

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:44 pm
by birdman
Hey guys --
we all know i'm no noob, but i was reading over the 2001 rules yesterday and i found a slight oddity. for a bonus roll with more than 1 die (i.e., 2d6) does each die need to come up a 6 to qualify for a bonus roll or can i roll a bonus with just one die?
up till now, i've been rolling a bonus for every 6 i roll.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:59 pm
by OneEye589
For every max roll that you roll, you one other roll in addition.

So say you have something with an armor of 2d10. You roll the 2d10, get a 5 and a 10. You rolled max on one, so you get another d10. You roll a 3 on that one, your total is 18 (5+10+3).

And also, if you get a max roll on a bonus roll, you get yet another.

You have a weapon that deals 2d6. You roll 2d6 and get a 1 and a 6. You rolled max, so you get a bonus d6 roll. You get another 6 on that one, so you get another bonus roll, for which you roll a 3. You end up with 16 damage (1+6+6+3).

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 2:08 pm
by IVhorseman
Yup. What he said.

Interestingly enough, a critical failure only occurs if you roll all ones. So if you have 3d10 and roll 1+1+3, you still get 5, and not 3. If you roll all ones though, then it's zero.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 2:27 pm
by OneEye589
IVhorseman wrote:Yup. What he said.

Interestingly enough, a critical failure only occurs if you roll all ones. So if you have 3d10 and roll 1+1+3, you still get 5, and not 3. If you roll all ones though, then it's zero.


I don't use that rule for damage or armor. If you roll that badly, you probably aren't going to succeed anyway, but if you have a gigantic gun that deals 10d10 damage pointed at a regular minifig, if it hits, it's going to kill, even if it does roll all 1s.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 4:07 pm
by Doopliss
OneEye589 wrote:I don't use that rule for damage or armor. If you roll that badly, you probably aren't going to succeed anyway, but if you have a gigantic gun that deals 10d10 damage pointed at a regular minifig, if it hits, it's going to kill, even if it does roll all 1s.

But then you can have so much fun with abstractions.  The minifig must have blocked the gigantic laser Dragonball Z style. :P

Besides, the odds of that being the case are worse than a million to one.  Cut the poor minifig some slack.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 4:19 pm
by Ross_Varn
Thing is, if you fail the skill or damage check, the gun is supposed to backfire or jam or something. The minifig didn't block it, the gun just didn't fire.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 4:21 pm
by OneEye589
Doopliss wrote:
OneEye589 wrote:I don't use that rule for damage or armor. If you roll that badly, you probably aren't going to succeed anyway, but if you have a gigantic gun that deals 10d10 damage pointed at a regular minifig, if it hits, it's going to kill, even if it does roll all 1s.

But then you can have so much fun with abstractions.  The minifig must have blocked the gigantic laser Dragonball Z style. :P

Besides, the odds of that being the case are worse than a million to one.  Cut the poor minifig some slack.


Well, that would be a feat on the part of the minifig, not a mishap with the weapon (which would be shown with the use roll, not the damage). The situation you described would be in the minifig's defense roll, at least in my games.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:00 am
by pesgores
You add another die to the roll if you roll a critical success. On top of all dice that come up with a crit. suc., you MUST add another die to the roll.

Isn't this basic?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 8:56 am
by OneEye589
pesgores wrote:You add another die to the roll if you roll a critical success. On top of all dice that come up with a crit. suc., you MUST add another die to the roll.

Isn't this basic?


You're a little late.

Some people just need a different way of describing it to figure it all out.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:51 am
by pesgores
OneEye589 wrote:
pesgores wrote:You add another die to the roll if you roll a critical success. On top of all dice that come up with a crit. suc., you MUST add another die to the roll.

Isn't this basic?


You're a little late.

Some people just need a different way of describing it to figure it all out.


???

I meant this was almost implied in the rules. Heck, it is explicitly explained, if I remember correctly (at least in the 2005 rules).

Re: Bonus Dice

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 10:44 am
by OneEye589
birdman wrote:but i was reading over the 2001 rules


He was reading the 2001 rules and was confused by something, which is understandable with any set of rules. He was just double checking.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 11:22 am
by pesgores
2001 rules? Why? Why not read the 2005's?

I guess 2001 only wins when it comes to supplements.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 5:47 am
by Rody
and the multitude of weapons...
let's not forget that.