Page 1 of 3

Special creations: Chariots.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 9:22 am
by *CRAZYHORSE*
Is the horse part of the chariot and are they one creature with a submissive half mind or is the chariot operated by the submissive half minded horse that gets orders from the rider?

this all sound a bit difficult, some help would be awesome.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 11:43 am
by OneEye589
I would do the cost for a horse (or however many horses are pulling it), then make the actual chariot a creation with only an armor value. The chariot and horses move at the same speed as the horses.

This way, if the chariot is severed from the horses, they can still both exist on the playing field.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:25 am
by *CRAZYHORSE*
Thanks but then still I think Chariot combat is a bit complicated.

6.Imagine a Chariot with a driver and a spearman  next to him, now lets say the chariot charges at a minifig and the spearmanr attacks their target while driving past him.
Would you then add the MOM from the chariot to the spearmans attack or would his MOM just stay at 1D6?

7.And if the chariot is cought in CC then the horse would be able to take an angry inch if commanded  by the driver, but the horse is stuck to the chariot so........

8. And if you chop of 1 out of 2 wheels from the chariot did you then destroy 1/2 or 1/3 of the propulsion system (does the horse count as part of the propulsion system) and are the wheels even propulsion systems, they don't propel?

I find this all a bit hard to fudge so what are your thoughts on this?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 12:15 pm
by Gungnir
The chariot only gets a MOM bonus if the chariot itself is attacking. Since it's the minifig swinging the spear, he still only gets a 1d6 bonus.

The chariot can't be in CC, but the minifig driving it can. However, if the chariot is moving, the minifig is forced out of CC due to the chariot pulling him.

If you knock off one or both wheels, the chariot gets a movement penalty because of drag, depending on how many wheels were knocked off.

That work?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:23 pm
by OneEye589
It would be exactly like riding a horse and jousting. There's no difference.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:34 pm
by *CRAZYHORSE*
So you are suggesting that it all depends on if he's strapped in or not? well that sound logic. then it is smarter for my spearman to just slash a target then charge because he would easily fall of as he is not strapped in.

This brings up another question may you only pair a two-handed (charging?) weapon with a shield if you are jousting, always when you are charging or when you are on a horse?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:51 pm
by Gungnir
*CRAZYHORSE* wrote:So you are suggesting that it all depends on if he's strapped in or not? well that sound logic. then it is smarter for my spearman to just slash a target then charge because he would easily fall of as he is not strapped in.

This brings up another question may you only pair a two-handed (charging?) weapon with a shield if you are jousting, always when you are charging or when you are on a horse?

I'm pretty sure you can't pair shields with two-handed weapons. Or do you mean Heavy Weapons? I think you can pair a shield with a heavy weapon whenever.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:01 pm
by Cpl. Halan
No,When you're mounted you can use a 2H weapon and a shield.  It's in chapter H under Lances
Weapon      Cost      Use      Range      Damage      Notes
Close Combat Weapons
Two-Handed Weapon (on foot)     4CP     4     CC     2d6 (+MOM)     Two-Handed; -1" to Move
Two-Handed Weapon (Jousting)     4CP     4     CC     2d6 (+MOM)     may be paired with Shield

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:09 pm
by *CRAZYHORSE*
Cpl. Halan wrote:No,When you're mounted you can use a 2H weapon and a shield.  It's in chapter H under Lances
Weapon      Cost      Use      Range      Damage      Notes
Close Combat Weapons
Two-Handed Weapon (on foot)     4CP     4     CC     2d6 (+MOM)     Two-Handed; -1" to Move
Two-Handed Weapon (Jousting)     4CP     4     CC     2d6 (+MOM)     may be paired with Shield


Yeah but it says when jousting not when mounted.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:20 am
by Keldoclock
[color= brown]Fudge[/color] it- if he leaves the chariot he must drop something or a over-loaded minifig cannot move.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:08 pm
by Gungnir
Cpl. Halan wrote:No,When you're mounted you can use a 2H weapon and a shield.  It's in chapter H under Lances.

What book are you reading?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:52 pm
by lrdofbricks
probably 2001 rules

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 3:29 pm
by Gungnir
Silverdream wrote:The 2005 rules.

I don't see a "Chapter H" in the 2005 rulebook.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:07 pm
by Keldoclock
Chapter H is the horse page.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 7:51 am
by Gungnir
You're all being very silly. Very silly indeed.

Under Two-Handed Weapons:
There is one important exception to the two-hands requirement: jousting. Although Two-Handed Weapons are too
heavy to swing with one hand, nothing stops a mounted minifig from tucking it one under one arm and riding full-tilt
at an opponent with it. A minifig riding a steed or vehicle only needs one hand to use a Two-Handed Weapon in a Charge attack (5.4: Charge!), as long as it has a pointy tip.