Necromancy

Supplement ideas, house rules, homemade stat cards, homebrew weapon types, and other cool variations

Moderators: Rev. Sylvanus, warman45

Necromancy

Postby Captain-Camper » Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:11 pm

This question has probably been asked before but how would a necromancer raise the dead in combat? Could said Necromancer raise the dead in an AoE or can he raise an entire battlefield of corpses? Also how would a necromancer cast an AoE debuff and what could said debuff affect?
"Tallyho lads, snuggle the houses and burn the women! Leave not a single potted plant alive! Full speed ahead and damn the cheesemongers"
User avatar
Captain-Camper
seriously?
 
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 4:17 am
Location: Here and There Along the Echo

Re: Necromancy

Postby stubby » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:21 am

Captain-Camper wrote:how would a necromancer raise the dead in combat?

Probably using a SuperNatural Die as a summoned Diemon (D.1 Dice and Diemons) to animate the corpse with Diemonic possession.

The animated dead have whatever their Effective Size and Armor were at time of death (or Size:1" and Armor:0 if they were reduced to zero). If they have the ability to move and/or take Action, then they can spend each of the SuperNatural Dice animating them, once per turn, on movement inches or Skill points.

So, for example: Necromancer shows up, finds some regular dead minifigs, slaps a SuperNatural d6 on one of them. That animated dead minifig now has Size 1", Armor:0 (since it was reduced to zero when it died), and a d6 it can spend on either Skill or Move each turn. Unless the necromancer adds any more dice, the zombie has trouble being an effective combatant, since it can't move and attack on the same turn; but if it can corner a foe then it can cause some trouble.

It'll get extra interesting if I decide to add the Diemonic abilities to the animated creature. A d6 zombie would get 1d6 Armor instead of zero, while a d4 zombie would have an infecting attack that turned victims into more zombies. A d8 zombie could climb walls and use its dead unit's Specialty, a d10 zombie could self-destruct, and a d12 zombie would gain a phasing ability.

Captain-Camper wrote:Could said Necromancer raise the dead in an AoE or can he raise an entire battlefield of corpses?

In theory. A necromancer could use d10s or d8s to cover an area, and then grant an animating die to everyone in that area. They could still only spend each die once, although they might use it as a group to all move together or all engage in close combat together. Any zombie who wandered outside the AoE would immediately de-animate, so you'd have to keep an eye on where the d10s and d8s were.

Captain-Camper wrote:Also how would a necromancer cast an AoE debuff and what could said debuff affect?

Same as any other SN AoE debuff: d8s and d10s to determine the AoE, and then extra dice used for whichever debuff you felt was appropriate.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 5056
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm


Return to Bonus Material

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest