Page 2 of 5

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 3:31 pm
by IVhorseman
hate to break it to you, but 1d20 doesn't necessarily mean high number of UR. in fact, 1d6+8 will on average give you a higher number than 1d20. keep in mind that 1d20 doesn't mean you'll get a high number - it means you'll get any number between 1 and 20. even the crappy numbers.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 3:48 pm
by King of Brix
True, but no matter what, he'll get to use whatever he want, as everything has a use rate of 1 when the spaceman tries to do something.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:54 pm
by Tiny Tank Rannon
King of Brix wrote:True, but no matter what, he'll get to use whatever he want, as everything has a use rate of 1 when the spaceman tries to do something.


but a roll of one means a critical failure, even Deadly space-man screws up sometime.

and clearly a rule of 0 on a D0 is a critical success because it's the highest number on a D0.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 4:31 pm
by King of Brix
You didn't read at all, did you? He can't come up with a total of one, seeing as he gets +1 to skill rolls. And 0 is also the lowest number on a d0, and the deadly spaceman considers a 0 a failure, despite it being either one or the other. Owned.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:23 pm
by piltogg
k.o.b. has a valid point also i made deadly space man and he doesn't look nearly as awesome as in mikes pictures. but still pretty good

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:25 pm
by james+burgundy
I don't have a 20 sided dice  :cry:  :cry:  :cry:  :cry:

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:28 pm
by Blitzen
I do. It's blue.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:14 pm
by Bonn-o-Tron
I've got two orange 20 sided dice =D

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:16 pm
by Olothontor
I have about ten purple ones. Of course, that's important when you play D&D...

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:26 pm
by Blitzen
Ten at a time though? I thought you only need one. Unless of course you have a super special awesome ray gun that does 10d20 damage, because then you would really need them all.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:28 pm
by Silent Mobius
King of Brix wrote:He can't come up with a total of one, seeing as he gets +1 to skill rolls. And 0 is also the lowest number on a d0, and the deadly spaceman considers a 0 a failure, despite it being either one or the other. Owned.

How would a human like us even begin to know how a minifig thinks. For all we know he see a 0 on a d0 to be over 9000. Un-Owned.

So if he did roll a d0 and did consider it to be a crit failure but got +1 to the roll would he then gain the ultimate power because a 1 isn't even on a d0?

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:15 pm
by DarkWolf
Blitzen wrote:Ten at a time though? I thought you only need one. Unless of course you have a super special awesome ray gun that does 10d20 damage, because then you would really need them all.


I've got 2d20, one orange and the other blue. But I need at least four more, preferbly six of the same color. Thermonuclear missiles dealing 6d20 damage. At worst, it wipes out all the minifigs in the area, at best, it levels the frakking battlefield.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:20 pm
by Rayhawk
Silent Mobius wrote:So if he did roll a d0 and did consider it to be a crit failure but got +1 to the roll would he then gain the ultimate power because a 1 isn't even on a d0?

If he rolls a critical success on a d0, that just means he gets to roll bonus d0s.  It's an infinite loop.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:20 pm
by Blitzen
Rayhawk wrote:
Silent Mobius wrote:So if he did roll a d0 and did consider it to be a crit failure but got +1 to the roll would he then gain the ultimate power because a 1 isn't even on a d0?

If he rolls a critical success on a d0, that just means he gets to roll bonus d0s.  It's an infinite loop.


Nay. In the rules, it clearly states that for every critical success you can roll one additional d6.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:24 pm
by Rayhawk
Blitzen wrote:
Rayhawk wrote:If he rolls a critical success on a d0, that just means he gets to roll bonus d0s.  It's an infinite loop.

Nay. In the rules, it clearly states that for every critical success you can roll one additional d6.

But 1.4 also says, "It's unclear whether or not a roll of 0 on a d0 counts as a Critical Success."  It's clearly unclear!