Some Black MOCs.

Creations, construction techniques, and news from the world of plastic toys

Moderators: Dr. X, ikensall, fredde

Some Black MOCs.

Postby Dr. X » Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:19 pm

I just built two black aircraft, both inspired from Crimson Skies. I didn't put ALL my effort into them, not my best aircraft ever, but I do think they are pretty great.

First up, the Warhawk. When I recently started playing Crimson Skies again, I wanted to build something like a warhawk, so I did. In black. Also, I forgot to add a tailfin. Oops.

The Warhawk is a light bomber, designed to go in and blow up stuff. It can carry immense loads for it's size, covering almost the entire underside of the plane. That brown/white thing on the back is my sorry attempt at squadron markings, just so you know.

Frontal view. (Gotta admit this view is badass.) Here you can see the missiles poking out from under the wing. This low armament is because this Warhawk has not yet been outfitted with explosives for it's next mission. Also, the Warhawk has two .70 Caliber machine guns inside the middle of both end-of-wing engines. The muzzle is seen here poking out in the middle of the propellors.

Side view. Look at the bulkiness of those engines. The Warhawk has no tailfin, short wings, and a huge gross weight, so with all those factors it takes a lot of power to get enough lift for it to fly. So the decision was made to include not one, but three Ford R3000 engines. A single one could power a plane twice the size of the Warhawk, but three are needed at minimum to lurch this thing into the air. BTW, that silver thing is an identification beacon. All planes have these beacons placed on them depending on which army they belong to, and that way it's easy to tell who's vehicles are who's. Each army's beacon broadcast's a specific type of wave, which can be picked up by most sensors. The silver marking means this Warhawk is registered to The Base.

Look ma, working flaps!