Dual Pistols?

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: IVhorseman, Pwnerade

Dual Pistols?

Postby Gungnir » Mon Aug 16, 2010 8:06 am

This has been bothering me for some time now. If a minifig is dual-wielding pistols, do they get to fire both of them as a single attack, or do they have to have Multidexterity?

EDIT: While I'm on the subject of one-handed weapons, what about melee weapons?
User avatar
Gungnir
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Postby Warhead » Mon Aug 16, 2010 9:01 am

Somethings I just wing it, the great thing about Brikwars is it's endless ability to allow this. My own theory is that yes, they get both attacks BUT only against the one target, UNLESS the mini-fig is a Hero or better. I also allow pistols to be used in melee at their firing damage just like you see in John Woo films where they stick the gun in the bad guys gut or face and start firing.
Image
User avatar
Warhead
Build me an Army worthy of Mordor
 
Posts: 10933
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 2:07 pm
Location: I'm Momnipresent.

Postby Tuefish » Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:29 am

Warhead, that's an awesome idea. It makes gun-fu much easier to figure out.
"If someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill them right back." -Malcolm Reynolds
Image
TROLOLO
Tuefish
Dimmy
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:26 am
Location: The Emerald city

Postby Warhead » Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:32 am

I used it in ZZD but as you saw, and as the Manly Men found out even 1D6+1 for the heavy pistols I used were no match against VOL armour.
Image
User avatar
Warhead
Build me an Army worthy of Mordor
 
Posts: 10933
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 2:07 pm
Location: I'm Momnipresent.

Postby Tuefish » Tue Aug 17, 2010 12:58 am

Ah, but my Vol War-King dual-wields gold-plated machine-pistols...
"If someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill them right back." -Malcolm Reynolds
Image
TROLOLO
Tuefish
Dimmy
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:26 am
Location: The Emerald city

Postby solvess » Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:16 am

gold is not a very strong metal try titanium.
My brute
"Having enough Dakka is an illusion created by those too weak to stomach true warfare."
"A river of blood begins with a single drop."
User avatar
solvess
Galidor
Galidor
 
Posts: 1019
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:38 pm

Postby Gungnir » Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:22 am

solvess wrote:gold is not a very strong metal try titanium.

That's why it's only plated with gold.
User avatar
Gungnir
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Postby solvess » Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:26 am

oh i get it!
My brute
"Having enough Dakka is an illusion created by those too weak to stomach true warfare."
"A river of blood begins with a single drop."
User avatar
solvess
Galidor
Galidor
 
Posts: 1019
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:38 pm

Postby IVhorseman » Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:34 pm

The rules state that a minifig is allowed two melee attacks or one ranged attack per turn unless you get multidexterity. so two knifes don't require any extra work to use at the same time, but two pistols would.
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 6662
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Re: Dual Pistols?

Postby jorgevorg » Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:38 pm

How does this work in the 2010 Edition of the Rules which, thus far, unless I missed it, do not mention anything relevant?

Is there additional cost associated with dual wielding in the 2010 edition?
TROLOLO
jorgevorg
Champion
Champion
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 4:06 pm

Re: Dual Pistols?

Postby Rev. Sylvanus » Wed Dec 28, 2011 12:26 am

From section 8.1: Weapon Size

A Creation can only fire one Hand-Held Ranged Weapon per turn, regardless of how many it's carrying.
For Your Reading Pleasure: Rev's Battle Reports

Reference Sheets: Animals and Mounts / Medieval Weapons

Factions: Dragon Guard / Hiimboredagain Raiders
User avatar
Rev. Sylvanus
Galidor
Galidor
 
Posts: 1004
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:14 pm
Location: Appalachia

Re: Dual Pistols?

Postby Keldoclock » Wed Dec 28, 2011 12:37 am

Unless you take Multidexterity, or whatever it is called, yeah.

Or just :fudge: .
Image
stubby wrote:omg noob, balrogs are maiars too, don't you know anything
User avatar
Keldoclock
Pooplord
 
Posts: 2749
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Dual Pistols?

Postby jorgevorg » Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:05 am

Is Multidexterity a part of Brikwars 2010? I understand that it is under development so it might have not yet been published. Still, if it is planned, I can use it as per 2001 edition for now.
TROLOLO
jorgevorg
Champion
Champion
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 4:06 pm

Re: Dual Pistols?

Postby Keldoclock » Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:34 am

/shrug

If you want a unit to shoot two pistols, :fudge: , or take Multidexterity and slap it onto your 2010 dudes. It's not like it will matter.


EDIT: Shouldn't it be polydexterity?
Image
stubby wrote:omg noob, balrogs are maiars too, don't you know anything
User avatar
Keldoclock
Pooplord
 
Posts: 2749
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Dual Pistols?

Postby Rev. Sylvanus » Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:03 am

In the list of Homebrew feats my friends and I have crafted for brikwars, we've included a "dual-wielding" special ability to cover this issue.
For Your Reading Pleasure: Rev's Battle Reports

Reference Sheets: Animals and Mounts / Medieval Weapons

Factions: Dragon Guard / Hiimboredagain Raiders
User avatar
Rev. Sylvanus
Galidor
Galidor
 
Posts: 1004
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:14 pm
Location: Appalachia

Next

Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests