Explosion Damage

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: IVhorseman, Pwnerade

Explosion Damage

Postby Colette » Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:42 pm

I'm just going to use this as an example:

The kamikaze pwny does 2d10 explosive damage, meaning that the things in the first 2-inch radius get the full 2d10 damage, while the ones up to 4 inches away only get 1d10. How does that work on a vehicle like this? It falls within both 2 and 4 inch radii- does this mean I apply damage to the vehicle twice? Or if I only do it once, how do I decide when to apply it and how?
Because everything's better with math.
User avatar
Catastrophe Magnet
Posts: 2403
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:04 pm
Location: This Forum

Re: Explosion Damage

Postby stubby » Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:56 am

First, check out the Explosion Example: Wall Demolition in 8.4.

The steps are like this:

    6. Roll 2d10 Explosion Damage, and roll the ship's Armor.
    7. If the total explosion damage is greater than the armor roll, then all the components within 2" are destroyed; otherwise, stop.
    8. Remove the highest Explosion die. If the remaining die is still greater than the armor roll, then all the components within the next 2" are destroyed as well.  Otherwise, stop.
That's it. You end up with a hole in the ship that has either a 0", 2", or 4" radius.

If you want to do Size Damage instead, then just roll 2d10 vs Armor like it was any other kind of damage, but that's much less cool.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 4948
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests