Now you can all stop asking about magick

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: IVhorseman, Pwnerade

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Postby IVhorseman » Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:17 pm

This is absolutely how magick works.
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 5306
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Postby Falk » Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:07 pm

If I have a wizard who's cliché is lightning spells, and his dice pool is 1d6, 2d8 and 2d12. He wants to cast an arc of electrik bolts, using 1d8 for skill, 1d6 for range, 1d8 for the arc and 2d12 for the damage. I roll a 5 on his skill, sufficient enough to make the spell work. His targets are a fig in full armor and one in light armor. I roll a 6 on the d8, and a 9 and 3 on the d12s. So does the damage from the d8 and the d12s bypass the armored, or just the d12s. I'm assuming that the d8 counts as damage but correct me if I'm wrong.
BrikWars 2010 Rules wrote:BrikWars ... stands in pretty direct opposition to many fundamental elements of the LEGO® philosophy, such as "Not Teaching Kids How Funny It Is to Set People on Fire."
Empire of Luchardsko WIP wiki page
User avatar
Falk
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Postby IVhorseman » Tue Feb 12, 2013 4:10 pm

First, your wizard would be rolling their normal skill AND the d8 skill, and taking whichever of the two rolls you prefer. Remember also that you don't need to "make" a specific skill roll to cast a spell, that's only if you're modifying a pre-existing weapon attack to add all this damage/range.

D8s used to extend range are not required to add the extra arc, but ones dealing damage would. Assuming you're using it to deal damage, the total UNARMORED damage comes out to (weapon)+1d8+1d12 damage. Assuming you're just using something that deals d6s in damage, only the d12 punctures the armor. If you're using a shotgun or other blastgun however, you can get 1d8+1d12 to punch through as well! Also keep in mind that you're suffering a -1 to damage for every inch the target is away.
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 5306
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Postby *CRAZYHORSE* » Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:32 am

IVhorseman wrote:This is absolutely how magick works.

Hah! Sarcasm!
stubby wrote:You were inb4beluga.
User avatar
*CRAZYHORSE*
Mega Blok
 
Posts: 1352
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: Procrasturbating.

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Postby IVhorseman » Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:38 pm

I'm not even kidding! I think the supernatural dice have far more interesting applications when they're attached to weapons and vehicles as opposed to just heroes. Got some extra nuclear generator bits on your death copter? Just give it 1d10 SN dice for each one and it could use them for movement or increased damage output or whatever.The best part is that when they blow up, they've already got 1d10 SN dice to explode with!
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 5306
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Postby Falk » Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:45 pm

Do SN dice use Weapon size"? Because if they don't, they would be the perfect shields for vehicles.
BrikWars 2010 Rules wrote:BrikWars ... stands in pretty direct opposition to many fundamental elements of the LEGO® philosophy, such as "Not Teaching Kids How Funny It Is to Set People on Fire."
Empire of Luchardsko WIP wiki page
User avatar
Falk
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Postby IVhorseman » Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:20 pm

Well they're not weapons, so no? Keep in mind that if you roll a 1 they'll get fumbled though, and the shield will be significantly less powerful (+1d10 to defense becomes +1d10 to taken damage, for example) as the SN dice cancel each other out.
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 5306
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Postby Legomc » Sat Jul 30, 2016 7:53 pm

I am confused by talismans.
2010 Rulebook wrote:Talismans
SuperNatural abilities can be given directly to minifigs, but machines, animals, and inanimate objects can carry SuperNatural powers as well, through enchantment, possession, alien teknology, or the misunderstanding that results when a minifig doesn't realize the power was within him all along. The powers of these objects are controlled by whatever Creature possesses them, inevitably making them the subject of deadly conflict.

As with Minds and other special devices, each SuperNatural Die must be based in a specific physical element or elements so that enemies have the chance to target them for destruction or even theft. An element that carries SuperNatural power is called a Talisman, and units require a separate Talisman for each SuperNatural die under their control.

The two sections I made bold seem to contradict each other. Are talismans required to be Super Natural, meaning that a minifig must be packed with nick-nacks to be any use as a SN? Or is that only for vehicles, creatures, and structures?
TheVengefulOne wrote:
XxXTheEdgiestMemeXxX wrote:>I believe Concave Dolphin is a very balanced and well-rounded team. However, Concave Dolphin could benefit from a healer and a tank. :tiger:


If you mean Concave Dolphin could benefit from being run over by a tank, I think they already have.
User avatar
Legomc
you don't nessesarily think about what you are saying
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Between the Pacific and the Atlantic oceans

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Postby stubby » Sat Jul 30, 2016 11:09 pm

The key phrase here is "As with minds". Minds can also be given directly to minifigs, but they must be based in a specific physical element. Namely, the head.

So if I had (for instance) a 5-die wizard, I'd put one die in his head, one in his beard, one in his fancy hat, one in his staff, and one in his cloak. All of those things can be destroyed or stolen by enemies and used for their power.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 4303
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Postby Falk » Sat Jul 30, 2016 11:18 pm

So basically each SN die has to be physically represented by a brick, with one being imbued into the minifig?
BrikWars 2010 Rules wrote:BrikWars ... stands in pretty direct opposition to many fundamental elements of the LEGO® philosophy, such as "Not Teaching Kids How Funny It Is to Set People on Fire."
Empire of Luchardsko WIP wiki page
User avatar
Falk
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Postby Legomc » Sun Jul 31, 2016 7:27 am

Okay, that makes more sense.
TheVengefulOne wrote:
XxXTheEdgiestMemeXxX wrote:>I believe Concave Dolphin is a very balanced and well-rounded team. However, Concave Dolphin could benefit from a healer and a tank. :tiger:


If you mean Concave Dolphin could benefit from being run over by a tank, I think they already have.
User avatar
Legomc
you don't nessesarily think about what you are saying
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Between the Pacific and the Atlantic oceans

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Postby Voin » Sun Aug 07, 2016 11:51 am

What's an appropriate amount of SN dice to use?/How many do people generally use?

Maybe put in the rulebook a sidebar w/ a few examples of how to stat out common battlefield spells like fireball, shield, etc, so people can build off those templates?

I'm also thinking maybe as a general guideline, divide by Low/Medium/High SN tiers

Low: Mostly other functions (preferably direct combat), slightly imbued w/ a bit of SN to give them that extra edge, (warrior who can affect themselves/weapon/equipment, but not much else). Often serve as footsoldiers to the higher tiers of SN units.

Examples: Augmented/Super-Soldiers, Farce-Warriors, Paladins, Rangers, "street-level" supers, Psyblades

Image

Medium: A healthy balance of martial prowess (or other specialty) & SN.

Examples: Acolytes, Bards, Magik Knights, mid-level-supers, Spell-Swords, Warpriests

Image

High: Master-Level SN-users, possibly a step down from true demigods. Will often command lesser SN/mundane troops. Typically physically weak Glass Cannons, able to dish out an apocalypse from afar, but run at the sight of a papercut (though #NotAllWizards).

Examples: Archmages, ArchClerix, Druids, Farce-Wizards, high-level supers, Psyonisists, Technomancers, Witches

Image
Shamelessly blatant self-promotion: check out my armory, where you can find new custom abilities and battle-gear stats, and my MOCPages page, which I really ought to update more often.

Support this dude's OSSUM Starkiller Base on LEGO Ideas:

This sig is too fucking large: show anyway
Image

You know you want to. Search your feelings, you know it to be true.
User avatar
Voin
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 865
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: United Freetopia of Eagleland

Previous

Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests