multi-payload weapons

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: IVhorseman, Pwnerade

multi-payload weapons

Postby knight508 » Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:33 pm

If you have some guy sitting in a gigantic Creation with a dozen weapons, can he fire all of them at the same target? More generally, can multiple weapons be used in an assault on a single target, even if the attacking fig is in a Creation?
You have been destroyed, wiped out, and disintegrated. Defeat is imminent.
TROLOLO
knight508
Champion
Champion
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:43 am
Location: In the lab...

Postby birdman » Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:55 pm

Yes, but only on a single target per gunner.
Image
User avatar
birdman
Galidor
Galidor
 
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:29 am

Postby Beelze » Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:21 pm

More specifically, one target per action. You could have a number of separate gunners or upgrade the single pilot's mind to have a freakish cyber-connection to the machine, enough for every weapon to be independently targeted.

Be sure to use lots of hoses and creepy black stuff. Heads-in-a-jar work too.
TROLOLO
Beelze
Nice Dubs
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:37 pm

Postby birdman » Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:28 pm

No, one target per gunner. If you have a gunner that has 3 actions for some reason, he can still shoot at only one target.
Image
User avatar
birdman
Galidor
Galidor
 
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:29 am

Postby Arkbrik » Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:38 pm

Unless he has several brains...
Remus: Harry... I'm a werewolf.
Harry: Are you fucking serious?
Remus: Well yes, but I don't see how that applies here.
User avatar
Arkbrik
Pooplord
 
Posts: 2551
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 7:18 am
Location: Sweden

Postby OneEye589 » Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:57 pm

I think the more important part of this is that he can only use one weapon unless he's got a special skill that allows him otherwise.

Anything, be it creation or minifigure, can only attack with one weapon (or set of weapons if they are controlled under the same controls. You can only use an action once, and firing one weapon takes one action. There's no way a regular pilot or minifigure can fire 12 weapons on one turn, he can only fire one.
User avatar
OneEye589
Pooplord
 
Posts: 4255
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New York

Postby birdman » Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:03 pm

No. You can fire as many weapons as you want, they just all have to be one target per gunner.

I see booty bothered in this thread's future.
Image
User avatar
birdman
Galidor
Galidor
 
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:29 am

Postby Blitzen » Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:13 pm

I guess the rules weren't very clear. Maybe Mr. Rulemaker can come and clean up this mess.
Image
Often, literally, a pillow fight but may include similar situations like volleyball, particularly when wardrobe is skimpy and the action is bouncy.
User avatar
Blitzen
Distinguished Owner of the English Language
 
Posts: 1898
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Postby OneEye589 » Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:31 pm

I just re-read some of the rules. I read it as if you have more than one weapons in your hands that you are able to attack with them all at once, but they have to be in your hands at the time. Attacking takes up one whole action and you can only use one action per turn. If you can somehow use all weapons at once, you can.

Either way, birdman is right in saying they all have to hit one target. I wasn't arguing that. You just have to have a way of firing all the weapons at once, otherwise you could shoot at the beginning of your turn, move, then shoot again. Doesn't work that way.
User avatar
OneEye589
Pooplord
 
Posts: 4255
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New York

Re: multi-payload weapons

Postby Warhead » Wed Aug 12, 2009 4:30 pm

knight508 wrote:If you have some guy sitting in a gigantic Creation with a dozen weapons, can he fire all of them at the same target? More generally, can multiple weapons be used in an assault on a single target, even if the attacking fig is in a Creation?


Well, you could think up a computer assisted targeting with Heads Up Display (HUD) for large creations like Mega Tanks, some big Mecha and AC's and spaceships. But the cost should be extreme IMO. Why not just build one gun per gunner and save the cost for more stuff otherwise when your one gunner gets splattered there go all your guns.
Image
User avatar
Warhead
Build me an Army worthy of Mordor
 
Posts: 10933
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 2:07 pm
Location: I'm Momnipresent.

Postby Beelze » Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:08 pm

The part I'm eyeballing is http://www.brikwars.com/rules/2005/7.htm#4 Scroll down to "multitasking," then further down to the section on vehicle controls.

It looks like a vanilla minifig in a deathmobile can fire one gun or set of identical guns at one target. Sadly, there doesn't seem to be any big red "KILL" button that shoots everything at once.

Purchasing multitasking AND multidexterity per extra target lets you shoot at more dudes, up to the natural limit of "arms or weapons." It's probably up to you whether that means two (arms) or the number of weapons on the vehicle.
TROLOLO
Beelze
Nice Dubs
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:37 pm

Postby birdman » Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:40 pm

I'm telling you people, you can shoot everything at once! look at pilots in the 2001 rules.
Image
User avatar
birdman
Galidor
Galidor
 
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:29 am

Postby stubby » Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:09 pm

In the 2001 rules, a minifig could fire as many of a Creation's weapons as he liked, as long as they were all aimed at the same target.

In the 2005 rules, a minifig can fire a single weapon, or pair of identical weapons. On the other hand, it'd be a good modification to the Piloting specialty, to give Pilots their 2001 abilities back.
User avatar
stubby
Psy.D Manchild Psychology, U. of Wikipedia
 
Posts: 5083
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Postby OneEye589 » Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:13 pm

We're talking about eh 2005 rules, birdman. If a new player comes on the forums, it's safe to just assume that they're talking about the 2005 ruleset, as those are the ones listed under "core rules" on the main page. Under 201 rules, you're right, but the 2005 rules say:

...an Operator can use its Action to control one (and only one) System on a Creation, against a single target...

...Ranged Weapons: firing a single weapon, or a paired set of identical weapons, at a single target...

...Melee Weapons: using one or two melee weapons in Close Combat against a single target...


And a pilot can steer and do one other action. As the 2005 rules state, you can only shoot just one or one pair of weapons (so two separate guns using the same controls) or two melee weapons. Under the "Enhanced Abilities" section, it clears it up more:

...a Creature with a standard Mind has one Action per turn and can attack with one ranged weapon or two melee weapons...


So that clears up a standard minifig or creation, but you can also add Multidexterity or Multitasking for a price.

Multidexterity wrote:Appropriate for Creatures with multiple arms or several natural weapons, Multidexterity increases the number of weapons the Creature can use in a single attack, provided it has enough hands to use them. In a given turn, Multidexterity allows the Creature to attack and Counter with two additional Close Combat weapons, use one additional weapon in a Ranged attack, or use one additional set of tools for other special actions. The Creature is still limited to taking Action against a single target during its turn, unless it has also purchased the Multitasking ability.


Multitasking wrote:Appropriate for Creatures with multiple heads or an advanced multiprocessing brain, Multitasking (or "Extra Action") allows a Creature to focus on one additional target during its turn. A Creature with multiple Ranged or Close Combat attacks may divide them between multiple targets in the same turn. A multi-brained or superintelligent Creature can even take two or more completely dissimilar Actions in the same turn (e.g., playing the piano while laying down sniper fire); however, it may not use the same weapon, hand, or equipment item for more than one Action during the turn. It may not use more than two hands or weapons for Actions unless it has also purchased Multidexterity.


So Multidexterity allows you to shoot more guns, Multitasking allows you to shoot at more than one thing. Otherwise, you must shoot only one thing with only one gun. Case closed.
Last edited by OneEye589 on Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
OneEye589
Pooplord
 
Posts: 4255
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New York

Postby Rody » Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:21 am

even so, multidexterity is only applied when the creation has more than 2 hands.
and why would I not be allowed to have two hand weapons aimed at a single target?
you can do this without multidexterity, so long as the gun isn't too huge. (allowed by the rule of cool, dual wielding guns is cool, so I allow it.)
they just won't be able to reload the darn guns after they emptied it.
Act first, then think, then try to find a way to cover up the horrible mess you made.
Si Hoc Legere Scis Nimium Eruditionis Habes
User avatar
Rody
My Little Pony
 
Posts: 1950
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Below sea-level

Next

Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests