Explosives and Combined Fire

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: IVhorseman, Pwnerade

Explosives and Combined Fire

Postby tommahoney » Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:18 am

If, for example 4 1d10 explosives in combined fire hit the target, does the damage roll simply count as a 4d10 explosion?
TROLOLO
tommahoney
Battlefield General
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 5:52 pm
Location: Blackpool, England

Postby OneEye589 » Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:01 am

I think that's how it would work. You would also then calculate damage 2 inches out, 4 inches, and 6 inches just like a 4d10 explosive. At least that's how I think it is in the rules.
User avatar
OneEye589
Pooplord
 
Posts: 4255
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New York

Postby Zahru II » Fri Aug 14, 2009 8:19 am

Yeah, sounds logical.
User avatar
Zahru II
balls just have this nasty tendency to wear out over time
 
Posts: 4685
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:22 am
Location: Hüngäry

Postby lrdofbricks » Fri Aug 14, 2009 9:09 am

i wouldnt say so becuase if it hits the same area, than the blast would be the same becuase of the lack of other need elements, oxygen in particular. it might be slightly more powerful than normal, but it wouldnt be as powerful as are four shots individual if the both had their own oxygen supply. remember that most modern bombs create powerul but small blasts that get bigger becuase they feed on the surrounding oxygen.
Image
LEGION- fear it
the 100000 post- by me
"manliness= X(warhead+piltog)^2/James+burgandy"
User avatar
lrdofbricks
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:35 am
Location: delaWhere?

Postby piltogg » Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:03 am

make blast-templates, roll once per explosion, everything under the template is destroyed. If you hit something that might explose when set fire to (barrels of gas, more explosives, vehicles, terrorists) then you may roll again and recenter your template to destroy things again.

(this is almost certainly not the official ruleing, however, it's very time efficient.)
Image
User avatar
piltogg
Clown-Face Bologna
Clown-Face Bologna
 
Posts: 2494
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:16 pm
Location: Fictional Deutschland

Postby OneEye589 » Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:11 am

Well, according to the rules in Chapter 5.1, a combined attack (which would be what several bazookamen firing at one target would be) has the description of the way damage is dealt as

...the Damage from all participants is added together and applied in a single massive sum...


So if the damage is all added together in one sum, it would just make it 4d10 if four 1d10's were added. Then, because that is the damage, you would just treat it as a 4d10 explosion.

The same applies to a max roll on d10 damage dice. If you are rolling 1d10 and get a 10, the damage automatically becomes 2d10 and is treated as a 2d10 explosion. Same idea.
User avatar
OneEye589
Pooplord
 
Posts: 4255
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New York

Postby stubby » Fri Aug 14, 2009 2:33 pm

This is one of the longest-running questions in BrikWars, since I never made any real decision about it. I think it's funny to have a glaring hole in the rules and never bother to address it.

It was a bigger deal when vehicles caused multiple-d10 explosions when they blew up, which could cause a giant game-ending chain reaction across the battlefield. Now it's probably not as game-breaking to let the d10s stack into bigger explosions, so why not.

OneEye589 wrote:The same applies to a max roll on d10 damage dice. If you are rolling 1d10 and get a 10, the damage automatically becomes 2d10 and is treated as a 2d10 explosion. Same idea.

This, on the other hand, is incorrect. A 10 on a 1d10 adds a bonus 1d6, not another 1d10. The explosion does more damage, but doesn't get any bigger.
User avatar
stubby
Psy.D Manchild Psychology, U. of Wikipedia
 
Posts: 5076
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Postby OneEye589 » Fri Aug 14, 2009 3:26 pm

Oh! I have been using that rule wrong the entire time. If I got a critical I always added an extra of whatever I got the critical on like Bonn-o-Tron. Thanks for correcting me.

So I guess they really have no relation, but it would make sense to make it larger.
User avatar
OneEye589
Pooplord
 
Posts: 4255
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New York


Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests