Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: IVhorseman, Pwnerade

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Tzan » Wed Oct 25, 2017 2:06 pm

stubby wrote:New rule: regardless of how many heroes or artifacts you have, you're limited to one feat per turn. If multiple heroes and/or artifacts are working together on the same feat, you get to roll more Feat dice and increase your chances of success, but that's it.


That's probably the best way, it keeps things moving along rather than thinking about 5 feats per turn.
User avatar
Tzan
Has anyone ever used those holes before?
Has anyone ever used those holes before?
 
Posts: 4499
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 4:41 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby sahasrahla » Wed Oct 25, 2017 9:43 pm

Duerer wrote:
stubby wrote:What if we just get rid of crankiness for feats, and just limit the penalty to the skill die itself. One hero has a d10, two heroes have d8s, three heroes have d6es, etc.


This might be a very specific case but what do I do when I field a unit of heroes? Are all skills to be reduced to a d2 or worse?
Image

just give them all a special Sentai Squad skill that lets them all use D8s or 10s, but they have to work together to preform a feat, or something
User avatar
sahasrahla
that is a fantastic question to which no satisfactory answer will be forthcoming
 
Posts: 626
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:40 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Duerer » Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:31 am

I thought about something similar in fact, maybe giving the leader and the 6th member d10 skill while the rest remains at d8.
User avatar
Duerer
Forum Champion 2016-2017
Forum Champion 2016-2017
 
Posts: 2743
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 11:22 am
Location: Germany, NRW (aka Eye of Terror)

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:04 am

Duerer wrote:This might be a very specific case but what do I do when I field a unit of heroes? Are all skills to be reduced to a d2 or worse?

When have you ever seen somebody put that many heroes in the same scene if the whole point wasn't that 90% of them would be defeated?

Skill dice bottom out at d4, so they'd just be mysteriously incompetent until enough of them were defeated that the survivors' skill dice would start ramping back up again.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 5067
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Duerer » Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:12 pm

stubby wrote:When have you ever seen somebody put that many heroes in the same scene if the whole point wasn't that 90% of them would be defeated?


Quite a lot of times. It's my daily bread, in fact.
Image
User avatar
Duerer
Forum Champion 2016-2017
Forum Champion 2016-2017
 
Posts: 2743
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 11:22 am
Location: Germany, NRW (aka Eye of Terror)

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby aoffan23 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 3:59 pm

Why not treat the whole unit as a hero? Each member alone is Incompetent, but each member that contributes to a group action increase the skill die size by one (to a maximum of d10). That way they can only operate at full effectiveness if at least 80% of the team is there.
Tzan wrote:
Quantumsurfer wrote:I generally agree with Tzan
Warhead wrote:I agree with QuantumSmurfer.



I agree with Warhead.
User avatar
aoffan23
You can nail me with your wood. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 7:41 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Kommander Ken » Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:06 pm

And for added hilarity, imagine what it'd be like if the group rolls a crit fail.
User avatar
Kommander Ken
bad at shitposting
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 12:25 am
Location: Coming soon to a Brikverse near you.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Omega Prime » Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:27 pm

Kommander Ken wrote:And for added hilarity, imagine what it'd be like if the group rolls a crit fail.

"Quick, everyone! Combine your swords for the [genaric anime attack name] Attack!"
"Fuck, forgot my sword."
"God damn it, Carl!"
gotta love knitting needles. i can make you a scarf. i can make a hat. i can stab your eyes out. i can make mittens.

What was that middle part again?

i can make a hat
User avatar
Omega Prime
Cannon Fodder
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 5:47 pm
Location: Somewhere in space

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Maraxous » Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:35 am

So if unit has deflection, like from heavy armor, and is hit with a 1d10 explosion. Is that unit disrupted? It wouldn't take any damage.
User avatar
Maraxous
Officer
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Texhnophille » Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:39 pm

Maraxous wrote:So if unit has deflection, like from heavy armor, and is hit with a 1d10 explosion. Is that unit disrupted? It wouldn't take any damage.


In games I played, a unit with Deflection had still been considered Disrupted even after deflecting 1d10 explosion.
Natalya wrote:Warhammer doesn't sell well because the models are good; it sells because of the awesome universe created around the models.

My lego Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/texhnophilleslegos/
User avatar
Texhnophille
Minifig
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:17 am
Location: Bleeding mother Russia

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:08 am

Maraxous wrote:So if unit has deflection, like from heavy armor, and is hit with a 1d10 explosion. Is that unit disrupted? It wouldn't take any damage.

Look for the Secondary Effects on Shielded Targets callout in http://brikwars.com/rules/2010/3.htm#3 . Knockback is based on number of d10s, so it hits first, before Deflection decreases the damage.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 5067
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Maraxous » Mon Feb 12, 2018 1:05 pm

I really can't believe I overlooked that.  :oops:
User avatar
Maraxous
Officer
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Gungnir » Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:27 pm

stubby wrote:Knockback is based on number of d10s, so it hits first, before Deflection decreases the damage.

Which makes sense. A unit's armor would block the shrapnel (which is what does all the damage) but the shockwave still hits him full-force.
BrikThulhu eats 1d6 minifigs each turn.
User avatar
Gungnir
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 995
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby Maraxous » Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:11 pm

Image
So I want to have this guy be able to run into groups and, "explode" lightning. While not killing himself with the attack. If I use SN dice, would 1d10 and 1d6 make that work? Or would a shockwave centered on him kill, or disrupt him?
User avatar
Maraxous
Officer
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Postby stubby » Mon Feb 19, 2018 7:03 pm

1d10 would be enough. With supernatural effects, an explosion centered on yourself only affects you if you want it to.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?
User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
 
Posts: 5067
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

PreviousNext

Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests