5e & My first time DM'ing

For all those games that happen to not be BrikWars

Moderators: Timedude, Olothontor

dilanski
Now with added tractor fetish

5e & My first time DM'ing

Post by dilanski » Wed Jun 15, 2016 6:48 pm

So I'm running my first campaign as a DM, and I am wondering if anyone has any tips? Running Curse of Strahd for 5e. I'm not too worried on making rulings on the spot, as it is basically a WISGR where I'm the only one allowed to roll. But the improv stuff? I'm not too sure about having to make up characters on the spot, much less making them into anything over than cardboard cut-outs. Also as I understand, CoS isn't a meatgrinder, but will quite happily slaughter an unprepared or underleveled party, so does anyone have tips on guiding a party without railroading them?

I'm using Roll20 as well, which I have very little experience in if anyone has any tricks to make my life easier with that.

Other than that, general 5e thread? What modules are people enjoying?
Almond Status: ACTIVATED

Steel_Valkyrie
Also sounding like a whiny bitch

Re: 5e & My first time DM'ing

Post by Steel_Valkyrie » Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:08 am

As a 3.5 DM, I dislike 5e, but improv is a big part of it, be prepared to have to do it a lot depending on how serious the game or campaign is. Also, don't say the players can't do anything just because it doesn't fit with the plan you set out.

lordintype
something different

Post by lordintype » Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:27 pm

Sometimes, though, steer them away. In Out of the Abyss, my 4th level characters almost insisted going to Menzoberrenzan.
The real Piltogg was the friends we made along the way.

Steel_Valkyrie

Post by Steel_Valkyrie » Thu Jun 16, 2016 11:27 pm

One of the parties I DM for was originally someone else's, and they sucked, so I have to find ways to make their too op weapons not op.

Ham
A 701 error is fine too.
A 701 error is fine too.

Post by Ham » Fri Jun 17, 2016 3:26 am