Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: Pwnerade, IVhorseman

User avatar
*CRAZYHORSE*
Mega Blok
Posts: 1348
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: Procrasturbating.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by *CRAZYHORSE* » Thu Jan 14, 2016 6:39 am

So for some weird reason I thought that the Hero's armor was changed to 1d10 in the 2010 book, but when I checked it was still 2d6.
So it's just going to stay 2d6 now?
stubby wrote:You were inb4beluga.

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5175
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by stubby » Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:16 am

*CRAZYHORSE* wrote:So for some weird reason I thought that the Hero's armor was changed to 1d10 in the 2010 book, but when I checked it was still 2d6.
So it's just going to stay 2d6 now?
It was for a while, but then a bunch of other mechanics got hooked into Structure Level that made a 1d10 Armor not make sense anymore for Heroes.

They shouldn't really be 2d6 either, but they're Heroes, so why not.

Voin wrote:So... due to Newton's First Law of Motion, I assume that when moving in space, where there is no friction and negligible gravity acting upon the object, it continues to move in the direction and at the speed that it was last, not unlike Out-of-Control vehicles?

So, say I fired a spacecraft's Thrusters on turn 1 to move my spacecraft 8", and on turn 2, the pilot decides to do something else with his whole action, the spacecraft would still keep going another 8" in the same direction w/o having to spend a new inches of movement on it, right?
Frictionless environments used to be covered in 9.3: Thrust Vectors, but I took them out for being too complicated to bother with in the main rulebook.

But yes, if you're going for a hard sci-fi frictionless feel in your space battle, then the way to do it is to get a bunch of 1-wide plates and put thrust trails behind all your moving objects to keep track of their velocity. You can stick extra thrust trails out the sides to keep track of angular velocity if you really want to. Eliminate all forms of regular Movement and stick to Thrust only, adding new thrust vectors to the existing thrust trails.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

StarshipH
Nice Dubs
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:23 pm
Location: Death Star Exhaust Vent Maintenance Specialist Quarters

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by StarshipH » Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:42 pm

How does Diverting All Power work with a vehicle?

Say my size 3" Starfighter has a 3" gun and 2x 2" launchers. It has a Pilot and a Gunner as crew. Say I want to Divert All Power to fire a barrage with both launchers, seeing as the vehicle itself doesn't get an action, do both crew take an action to Divert All Power? Can the pilot "Line up a shot, and acquire target locks" and then have the Gunner fire all in the same turn?
Just the friendly neighborhood Anorak, nothing to see here.

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5175
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by stubby » Fri Jan 15, 2016 1:08 pm

Huh, looks like I took full-round action out of Chapter 4 and replaced it with Extended Actions. I'll need to rewrite the Divert All Power rules.

So rather than a full-round action, Divert All Power is an Extended Action instead. If the vehicle doesn't take part in any movement or action during its turn, it can save up its Power and add it to its total available Power on the following turn. It doesn't matter if the vehicle has any Actions of its own or not, as long as it isn't used for any Action or Movement of its own or anyone else's for that turn (although in inertialess space it would still continue traveling in whatever direction it was already going). It can then spend the extra Power on the following turn.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

StarshipH
Nice Dubs
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:23 pm
Location: Death Star Exhaust Vent Maintenance Specialist Quarters

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by StarshipH » Fri Jan 15, 2016 1:12 pm

Thanks, so the fighter would crash if it tried to fire both launchers?

Also, how does compensating work on creations? Does it allow a creation to treat itself as 1" larger? Or does it allow it to USE weapons 1" larger?
Just the friendly neighborhood Anorak, nothing to see here.

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5175
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by stubby » Fri Jan 15, 2016 3:04 pm

The fighter would (probably) crash if flying through the air, although if you pull some tricks with Momentum or Stunt Driving or something you might avoid it. In outer space it just keeps going in whatever direction it's already going.
Compensating Specialty: Cost:+1CP; can use Weapons 1" larger than normally allowed when standing still
That's the wording now, although I should really change it to +1" Effective Size to loop in all the other bonuses you get from being bigger and stronger.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

StarshipH
Nice Dubs
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:23 pm
Location: Death Star Exhaust Vent Maintenance Specialist Quarters

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by StarshipH » Sat Jan 16, 2016 10:12 pm

In the above example, while the ship is charging up,it must remain stationery, so any gunners would get home in bonuses, right?
Just the friendly neighborhood Anorak, nothing to see here.

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5175
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by stubby » Sun Jan 17, 2016 12:58 am

The starship is only diverting its own All Power, not any of the All Power of the people inside. They can run around doing whatever they like as long as it doesn't require ship's power.

Homing In bonuses come from seeing where the previous shot landed. Gunners can't shoot while the ship is Diverting All Power, so they're not generating any new Homing In bonus while the ship isn't doing anything.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

User avatar
runnybabbit223
worth a try if your desprate
Posts: 429
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:19 pm
Location: Outside the Matrix

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by runnybabbit223 » Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:17 am

Voin wrote:
stubby wrote: So rather than a full-round action, Divert All Power is an Extended Action instead. If the vehicle doesn't take part in any movement or action during its turn, it can save up its Power and add it to its total available Power on the following turn. It doesn't matter if the vehicle has any Actions of its own or not, as long as it isn't used for any Action or Movement of its own or anyone else's for that turn (although in inertialess space it would still continue traveling in whatever direction it was already going). It can then spend the extra Power on the following turn.
So if a starship is Diverting All Power, does it matter if the minifigs (or w/e) inside it move or use up actions? I assume everyone inside doesn't just have to sit quietly?

Say it's powering up a massive Wave Motion Gun to blast an enemy ship while it's getting boarded - the space-marines repelling the boarding don't interfere w/ the gun and the Gunners, do they?
Speaking of which, if a tank diverts all powerinto movement, but the tank has a machine-gun attached with it's own gunner, is the gunner stopped from attacking?

Similarly, if a vehicle has a weapon with it's own operator, does that weapon then count as the operator's weapon? Does the operator fire it, or the pilot fire it?

EDIT: just realised that stubby partly answered this question.
3... 2... 1... DRAGONS!

User avatar
Gungnir
Jaw-Jaw
Posts: 996
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by Gungnir » Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:53 am

Somewhat related to the current discussion, but what's to stop a minifig from diverting its own power into a weapon rather than whatever it's mounted on?
BrikThulhu eats 1d6 minifigs each turn.

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5175
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by stubby » Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:23 am

8.1: Weapon Size wrote:For the rare weapon that's so Too Big that neither technique is enough by itself, groups of Creations can Divert All Power and use Teamwork at the same time. In either case, the participating Creations should be able to provide the appropriate type of power - a medieval knight can't use muscle strength to help power a lightning cannon, any more than hooking that knight up to a car battery would help him swing a bigger sword (although the latter example is really worth testing a few times, just to be sure).
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5175
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by stubby » Sun Jan 17, 2016 1:15 pm

runnybabbit223 wrote:Speaking of which, if a tank diverts all power into movement,
Movement doesn't have a power rating, so adding more power doesn't have any effect on your movement. I guess you could make some kind of mod that allows you to convert unused power into extra thrust, but there's nothing like that in the game right now.
runnybabbit223 wrote:but the tank has a machine-gun attached with it's own gunner, is the gunner stopped from attacking?
In the strictest interpretation of the rules, any vehicle weapon is stopped. But this is an area with some room for fudge. In real life, a lot of machine guns are just independent devices that don't draw from their vehicle's power supply in any way, so you could negotiate with the other players about whether it was an independent device or not.
runnybabbit223 wrote:Similarly, if a vehicle has a weapon with it's own operator, does that weapon then count as the operator's weapon? Does the operator fire it, or the pilot fire it?
Depends on the design of the vehicle, but usually both. See the Controls section under 8.6: Manning Guns.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

User avatar
runnybabbit223
worth a try if your desprate
Posts: 429
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:19 pm
Location: Outside the Matrix

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by runnybabbit223 » Mon Jan 18, 2016 5:53 am

stubby wrote:
runnybabbit223 wrote:Speaking of which, if a tank diverts all power into movement,
Movement doesn't have a power rating, so adding more power doesn't have any effect on your movement. I guess you could make some kind of mod that allows you to convert unused power into extra thrust, but there's nothing like that in the game right now.
Oh, I usually will 'divert all power' into movement in order to traverse a large map, house rules I guess. :D
3... 2... 1... DRAGONS!

User avatar
*CRAZYHORSE*
Mega Blok
Posts: 1348
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: Procrasturbating.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by *CRAZYHORSE* » Mon Jan 18, 2016 7:23 am

runnybabbit223 wrote: Oh, I usually will 'divert all power' into movement in order to traverse a large map, house rules I guess. :D
How would this be different from sprinting?
stubby wrote:You were inb4beluga.

StarshipH
Nice Dubs
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:23 pm
Location: Death Star Exhaust Vent Maintenance Specialist Quarters

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by StarshipH » Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:56 pm

When dropping a bomb, whats the Use rating? Does a bomb use up weapon inches when dropped from a creation? Could a size 0" half mind "fire-control system" trigger a bomb-rack mechanism to get around that?

Would putting a half mind on a rocket allow it to fire itself, allowing the unit it was mounted on to preserve it's own inches?
Just the friendly neighborhood Anorak, nothing to see here.

Post Reply