Rulebook Confusion Compilation

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: Pwnerade, IVhorseman

Post Reply
User avatar
silasw
Official Duck
Official Duck
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:25 pm

Rulebook Confusion Compilation

Post by silasw » Tue Aug 04, 2020 7:41 pm

I'm making this thread to keep track of instances from the Discord, IRL and other Brikwars community sites when people get confused by the rulebook. Hopefully we can brainstorm and help Mike improve the rulebook.

Please feel free to reply with anything in the rules that confused you or anyone you've played with.
  1. Parrying section (chapter 5, also see the Shields section in chapter 3) - It's not immediately obvious that normal minifigs can only parry strikes with shields. That sentence probably needs to be up front. We might also want to specifically call out Ranged Attacks as parryable rather than just saying "damage."
  2. Hand-held MOC Weapons (chapter 8) - When people read the "Large Hand-Held Weapon Equivalents" table, sometimes they think that the Use Rating is also equivalent to Minifig Weapons because its says "use like a Hand Weapon."
  3. Overkill Damage (chapter 7) - Can clarify that Armor needs to be rolled again for Overkill damage. (And that the new Armor roll would take the creation's new Effective Size into account.) Also this probably comes up often enough that it could be called out in the Size Damage section.

User avatar
silasw
Official Duck
Official Duck
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:25 pm

Re: Rulebook Confusion Compilation

Post by silasw » Thu Oct 22, 2020 11:34 am

I taught my friend to play and here's some of the minor problems we ran into:
  • Confusion between damage (as in damage rolls) vs. Size Damage. I could have just used the term Wounded from Chapter H to avoid this though.
  • This one is my question actually: Are units allowed to save their action for a response, but then if they haven't used it by the time their turn comes around again, just use it to "respond" to the end of the enemy's turn?

User avatar
Zupponn
if you give us money we will give you product
if you give us money we will give you product
Posts: 5549
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 6:15 pm
Location: Formerly Wisconsin, Now Minnesota

Re: Rulebook Confusion Compilation

Post by Zupponn » Thu Oct 29, 2020 1:02 pm

I'm confused. There's a rulebook?
Image

User avatar
Venge
there are no brakes on the ban train
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 1:46 pm
Location: Banned by Natalya

Re: Rulebook Confusion Compilation

Post by Venge » Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:04 pm

silasw wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 11:34 am
[*]This one is my question actually: Are units allowed to save their action for a response, but then if they haven't used it by the time their turn comes around again, just use it to "respond" to the end of the enemy's turn?
Once the units' turn comes around again, the response action is gone, and then they have only one action, they can't use their previous response action and then make another action. Sorry, I think I may have misunderstood your question, but I hope that clears things up a little.
Formerly known as TheVengefulOne. Times banned by Natalya: 10 (+ 1 alt).

My BrikWars Stuff: http://brikwars.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=16684

My Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/

User avatar
silasw
Official Duck
Official Duck
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:25 pm

Re: Rulebook Confusion Compilation

Post by silasw » Thu Nov 05, 2020 4:42 pm

Venge wrote:
Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:04 pm
silasw wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 11:34 am
[*]This one is my question actually: Are units allowed to save their action for a response, but then if they haven't used it by the time their turn comes around again, just use it to "respond" to the end of the enemy's turn?
Once the units' turn comes around again, the response action is gone, and then they have only one action, they can't use their previous response action and then make another action. Sorry, I think I may have misunderstood your question, but I hope that clears things up a little.
You misunderstood a bit, we are basically wondering if this play is possible:
"Right before my turn starts, I'll use this unit's response action to attack."

User avatar
Venge
there are no brakes on the ban train
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 1:46 pm
Location: Banned by Natalya

Re: Rulebook Confusion Compilation

Post by Venge » Sat Nov 07, 2020 1:10 pm

silasw wrote:
Thu Nov 05, 2020 4:42 pm
Venge wrote:
Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:04 pm
silasw wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 11:34 am
[*]This one is my question actually: Are units allowed to save their action for a response, but then if they haven't used it by the time their turn comes around again, just use it to "respond" to the end of the enemy's turn?
Once the units' turn comes around again, the response action is gone, and then they have only one action, they can't use their previous response action and then make another action. Sorry, I think I may have misunderstood your question, but I hope that clears things up a little.
You misunderstood a bit, we are basically wondering if this play is possible:
"Right before my turn starts, I'll use this unit's response action to attack."
Oh ok, gotcha. I think the answer is "only if someone attacks your unit first".

Edit: Forgot it can also be "if an enemy wanders into range of your weapon".
Last edited by Venge on Fri Nov 27, 2020 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Formerly known as TheVengefulOne. Times banned by Natalya: 10 (+ 1 alt).

My BrikWars Stuff: http://brikwars.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=16684

My Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5194
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Rulebook Confusion Compilation

Post by stubby » Thu Nov 26, 2020 5:20 pm

silasw wrote:
Thu Nov 05, 2020 4:42 pm
You misunderstood a bit, we are basically wondering if this play is possible:
"Right before my turn starts, I'll use this unit's response action to attack."
A response action is a response to a specific enemy action on the field - something like "an enemy wandered into my attack range" or "I am getting shot at," not something meta like "the enemy's turn is ending."

The requirement is that in order to make a response action, the unit has to be able to see the enemy action he's responding to. A Human ending their turn isn't something a minifig can see.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

User avatar
silasw
Official Duck
Official Duck
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:25 pm

Re: Rulebook Confusion Compilation

Post by silasw » Wed Dec 02, 2020 5:04 pm

Thanks!

Post Reply