Now you can all stop asking about magick

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: Pwnerade, IVhorseman

User avatar
RedRover
I want you to be
I want you to be
Posts: 2657
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:36 pm
Location: CA
Contact:

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by RedRover » Tue Jul 10, 2018 4:16 pm

stubby wrote:Units who think they're super special are actually just completely normal minifigs with a big ego and a fancy hat or something
This seems so true of people in real life

User avatar
Bragallot
Forum Authority on Craigging Rights
Posts: 4989
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 2:00 pm
Location: Battling adulthood

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by Bragallot » Wed Jul 11, 2018 3:04 am

I'm fine with it, it's as much of an advantage as a disadvantage when you think about it (since your own guys can pick up the talismans as well) and it adds another layer to the battle as the SN dice aren't removed from the game as soon as someone goes 'lol all of my guys shot your mage'.

Falk
Oh no whatever will we do without the buttplugs
Oh no whatever will we do without the buttplugs
Posts: 1147
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by Falk » Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:14 am

:roll: Oops
BrikWars 2010 Rules wrote:BrikWars ... stands in pretty direct opposition to many fundamental elements of the LEGO® philosophy, such as "Not Teaching Kids How Funny It Is to Set People on Fire."
Empire of Luchardsko WIP wiki page

User avatar
Bragallot
Forum Authority on Craigging Rights
Posts: 4989
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 2:00 pm
Location: Battling adulthood

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by Bragallot » Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:41 am

If you use a staff and a SN die for direct damage, do you get another SN die of damage if you get a 6 or more on the action roll you make for using the staff like you do with normal attacks?

User avatar
Texhnophille
Minifig
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:17 am
Location: Bleeding mother Russia

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by Texhnophille » Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:38 am

Didn't see anything regarding overskill in the dice chapter. :mystery:
Natalya wrote:Warhammer doesn't sell well because the models are good; it sells because of the awesome universe created around the models.
My lego Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/texhnophilleslegos/

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5176
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by stubby » Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:57 am

Bragallot wrote:If you use a staff and a SN die for direct damage, do you get another SN die of damage if you get a 6 or more on the action roll you make for using the staff like you do with normal attacks?
This sounds fine to me. Bennies in general are pretty flexible so I usually leave stuff like this to a judgment call by the players.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

User avatar
Bragallot
Forum Authority on Craigging Rights
Posts: 4989
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 2:00 pm
Location: Battling adulthood

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by Bragallot » Tue Aug 07, 2018 6:15 am

Cool. :) I need to make me some casters with supernatural d10's. :twisted:

User avatar
Bragallot
Forum Authority on Craigging Rights
Posts: 4989
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 2:00 pm
Location: Battling adulthood

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by Bragallot » Fri Aug 10, 2018 3:36 pm

If you don't have your wand / staff for whatever reason, can you use one SN die to add range to the effect of the other SN die?

Falk
Oh no whatever will we do without the buttplugs
Oh no whatever will we do without the buttplugs
Posts: 1147
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by Falk » Fri Aug 10, 2018 3:46 pm

yeah, you're supposed to be able to use sn dice together to create spells or whatever.
BrikWars 2010 Rules wrote:BrikWars ... stands in pretty direct opposition to many fundamental elements of the LEGO® philosophy, such as "Not Teaching Kids How Funny It Is to Set People on Fire."
Empire of Luchardsko WIP wiki page

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5176
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by stubby » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:47 pm

Unless the SN die was actually in the wand or the staff. But SN users don't have to channel their powers through any special pieces of equipment if they don't want to. Wands and staves are just a cheap way to add CC and ranged attacks without having to buy more SN dice.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

User avatar
Vason
Hero
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 10:24 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by Vason » Sat Aug 11, 2018 10:45 am

stubby wrote:Wands and staves are just a cheap way to add CC and ranged attacks without having to buy more SN dice.


Real SN users rely only on what is in their Heart! And Beard! And Cape! And Pants!

User avatar
Red_SPAMbot
Officer
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:02 am
Location: In your Junk Folder

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by Red_SPAMbot » Fri Apr 24, 2020 7:27 am

I am very confused on the cost of Supernatural Dice and generating Summoned Creatures.

I have a wizard who is a cookiemancer and want him to be able to summon gingerbread soldiers. To be able to summon a gingerbread man with the stats of a standard minifig, that would require 4d6 to be spent on the effect (1 for each stat effectively). Am I getting this correct or am I missing something? And then further dice would need to be spent for equipment, like pretzel stick spears, correct?

EDIT Post Script: Okay, after reading the section again, summoning minifig equivalent things is by spending a D6 (effectively summoning a 6creant) and summoning equipment is by spending dice on a roll against effective equipment size (So spears would be Medium Equipment with an effective target number of 3 on the superdice) with the D6 used to maintain the summoning effectively spent until the minions die or get dismissed, but the dice used for generating the equipment return to the SN dice pool next turn whether they succeed or not, correct?
:studgod:ImageImageImage

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5176
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by stubby » Wed Apr 29, 2020 8:30 pm

Sorry I'm late, I got behind on checking the forum.

To make your cookie man, you'd start with one Image to create a 6creant. He starts out with a d6 he can use for either Action or Move; a second Image lets him have one for each.

Gingerbread man, cost: 2 SN Image
Stats: Size:1" Armor:Image Action:Image Move: Image"

The cookie man could pick up any weapons lying around, or you could summon some with more supernatural dice.

Any one of the three effects will end when you recall its supernatural die.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

User avatar
Red_SPAMbot
Officer
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:02 am
Location: In your Junk Folder

Re: Now you can all stop asking about magick

Post by Red_SPAMbot » Sat May 02, 2020 11:55 pm

Thanks for the clarity, Mike. It clears some things up.

I was going to ask a stupid question about conjuring Spawning Generators to generate Canon Fodder, but I think I can figure it out. :fudge:
:studgod:ImageImageImage

Post Reply
cron