Explosive size

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: IVhorseman, Pwnerade

Re: Explosive size

Postby stubby » Sun Aug 19, 2012 5:59 pm

It should probably be amended to say that any strikes out of range are subject to the usual Out of Range rules (they still hit, but -1 Damage per 1" out of range).
User avatar
stubby
forum janitor
 
Posts: 4642
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Explosive size

Postby Falk » Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:14 am

I have a question about explosives: Let's say that I shot a MKIII self propelled rocket at a group of normal minifigs. I jit them, and the damage roll was 8, 2 and 7. That means that all of the dice are in the first 2" from the place that the rocket hit, the 8 and 2 in the 2nd 2" and the 8 in the 3rd 2", right? Then, I found out that there were 2 minifigs in the first radius, 3 in the second and 1 in the third. Would the fig in the 3rd radius get 8 damage or whatever was left of the damage from the other radiuses (in this case 0 damage beacuse it was absorbed by the other minifigs in the blast radius)?
BrikWars 2010 Rules wrote:BrikWars ... stands in pretty direct opposition to many fundamental elements of the LEGO® philosophy, such as "Not Teaching Kids How Funny It Is to Set People on Fire."

Empire of Luchardsko WIP wiki page
User avatar
Falk
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Explosive size

Postby IVhorseman » Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:24 am

8 damage. Everything within range of the explosion NOT blocked off by something that fully withstood the explosion takes the full damage. You remove one die of damage per 2" out, but which one you remove is completely up to the attacker's choice.
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 6309
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Re: Explosive size

Postby Falk » Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:31 am

Ok, thanks.
BrikWars 2010 Rules wrote:BrikWars ... stands in pretty direct opposition to many fundamental elements of the LEGO® philosophy, such as "Not Teaching Kids How Funny It Is to Set People on Fire."

Empire of Luchardsko WIP wiki page
User avatar
Falk
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Explosive size

Postby MDT-Maikel » Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:25 am

I don't understand the rulebook at the point of XS and WS for explosives and rockets.

Are rockets and explosives of the same physical size also of the same size ingame. From what I understand
from the rulebook a one inch rocket is as strong as 1brick high explosive. Please correct me if I am wrong.

Also what happens to the extra die you might throw during an explosion, cause one of your normal dice landed on 10?
TROLOLO
MDT-Maikel
BrikWars Legend
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:42 pm

Re: Explosive size

Postby stubby » Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:32 am

A one brick rocket is the same as a one brick explosive.

When you roll a 10 on a d10 it means you get to roll an extra d6.

So imagine a 3d10 explosion, you roll a 4, a 3, and a 10.
Since you rolled a 10 on one of the d10s, you roll a bonus d6, and roll a 6.
Since you rolled a 6 on the d6, you roll another bonus d6, and roll a 2.

So for the first two inches, the damage is 10 (+6) (+2) plus 4 plus 3.
The next two inches is 10 (+6) (+2) plus 4.
The next two inches is 10 (+6) (+2).
The next two inches is 0, because there are no more d10s. The d6es don't increase the size of the explosion, only d10s do that.
User avatar
stubby
forum janitor
 
Posts: 4642
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Explosive size

Postby IVhorseman » Wed Sep 19, 2012 1:04 pm

Wait, a crit on a d10 gives you a bonus d6 now? I thought it was a bonus d10 still? Lower probability of crits -> greater rewards for them.

I guess I understand wanting to be consistent with "every d10 means bigger explosion" but I don't know what's so hard about keeping an explosion contained by explosive size, not by how many dice you're rolling.
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 6309
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Re: Explosive size

Postby stubby » Wed Sep 19, 2012 1:17 pm

IVhorseman wrote:Wait, a crit on a d10 gives you a bonus d6 now? I thought it was a bonus d10 still? Lower probability of crits -> greater rewards for them.

Was there ever a bonus d10? I thought it was bonus d6es since the invention of bonus dice.

Supernatural d10s can get bonus d10s, but since I haven't released that chapter yet I'm not sure where this idea came from.
User avatar
stubby
forum janitor
 
Posts: 4642
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Explosive size

Postby IVhorseman » Wed Sep 19, 2012 1:19 pm

Old versions of the rules? I swear, that's how I always played. Roll a crit, roll another of the same die. You're the one that invented this bullshit so I'm sure you're right, but... huh. weird. I'm probably gonna keep playing that way regardless.
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 6309
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Re: Explosive size

Postby sjosten » Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:12 pm

I agree with IV on both counts. While you're the one who made the game and all, bonus d10s lead to more damage, which leads to more destruction, which is the best outcome in a BrikWars battle.
Han Solo wrote: Hokey religions and ancient weapons are no match for a good blaster at your side kid.
User avatar
sjosten
Minifig
 
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:07 am
Location: Franklin Tennessee

Re: Explosive size

Postby Natalya » Sun Oct 14, 2012 4:15 am

stubby wrote:It should probably be amended to say that any strikes out of range are subject to the usual Out of Range rules (they still hit, but -1 Damage per 1" out of range).


What if it totally obliterates the target, or moves it? I'm thinking like those spring-loaded rubber dart launcher things. If you shoot a minifig with one of those, they're going to get knocked flying.

Image
Image
  ▲
▲ ▲

"Each night alone I dream, that I'm a rebel Roller Queen‼
I'll be a star that shines, I can make the whole world mine‼"


Image
User avatar
Natalya
Tremble in awe, for I am become Admin, Banner of Noobs.
Tremble in awe, for I am become Admin, Banner of Noobs.
 
Posts: 5237
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:57 pm
Location: Now in Ontario

Re: Explosive size

Postby stubby » Sun Oct 14, 2012 12:01 pm

Natalya wrote:What if it totally obliterates the target, or moves it? I'm thinking like those spring-loaded rubber dart launcher things. If you shoot a minifig with one of those, they're going to get knocked flying.

Image

Even if extra range reduces damage to zero, knocked flying still means Disrupted. If parts get knocked off then those parts get knocked off, regardless of zero damage done, I think.
User avatar
stubby
forum janitor
 
Posts: 4642
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Explosive size

Postby Falk » Sun Oct 14, 2012 12:49 pm

stubby wrote:
Natalya wrote:What if it totally obliterates the target, or moves it? I'm thinking like those spring-loaded rubber dart launcher things. If you shoot a minifig with one of those, they're going to get knocked flying.

Image

Even if extra range reduces damage to zero, knocked flying still means Disrupted. If parts get knocked off then those parts get knocked off, regardless of zero damage done, I think.

What if the fig or creation got knocked of the table/playing field?
BrikWars 2010 Rules wrote:BrikWars ... stands in pretty direct opposition to many fundamental elements of the LEGO® philosophy, such as "Not Teaching Kids How Funny It Is to Set People on Fire."

Empire of Luchardsko WIP wiki page
User avatar
Falk
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Explosive size

Postby stubby » Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:55 pm

Falk wrote:What if the fig or creation got knocked of the table/playing field?

What I Say Goes Roll. That kind of thing depends on how serious / silly players feel like being, although I suspect they're more on the silly side if they're using the spring launchers for battle.
User avatar
stubby
forum janitor
 
Posts: 4642
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Explosive size

Postby Keldoclock » Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:08 am

Clearly it would re-appear on the other side of the board with momentum intact :P
Image
stubby wrote:omg noob, balrogs are maiars too, don't you know anything
User avatar
Keldoclock
Pooplord
 
Posts: 2749
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: New York City

PreviousNext

Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests