Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: Pwnerade, IVhorseman

User avatar
Gungnir
Jaw-Jaw
Posts: 996
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by Gungnir » Mon Jan 18, 2016 10:18 pm

StarshipH wrote:When dropping a bomb, whats the Use rating? Does a bomb use up weapon inches when dropped from a creation? Could a size 0" half mind "fire-control system" trigger a bomb-rack mechanism to get around that?

Would putting a half mind on a rocket allow it to fire itself, allowing the unit it was mounted on to preserve it's own inches?
Explosives don't have use ratings unless they're fired from a launcher. And dropping an object doesn't use inches; the creation simply isn't holding it anymore.

As for the rocket, I don't think it would be worth the cost of adding a mind to it just so you can shoot more weapons.
BrikThulhu eats 1d6 minifigs each turn.

User avatar
RedRover
I want you to be
I want you to be
Posts: 2651
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:36 pm
Location: CA
Contact:

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by RedRover » Mon Jan 18, 2016 10:22 pm

adding a mind could help it hit its target though.

StarshipH
Nice Dubs
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:23 pm
Location: Death Star Exhaust Vent Maintenance Specialist Quarters

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by StarshipH » Mon Jan 18, 2016 11:14 pm

Why would you ever use a 2-handed weapon on a minifig, when a size 2 melee weapon has lower use rating and identical damage?
Just the friendly neighborhood Anorak, nothing to see here.

User avatar
Kommander Ken
an avid fan of large round cannons
an avid fan of large round cannons
Posts: 2035
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 12:25 am
Location: Getting Brootalized

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by Kommander Ken » Mon Jan 18, 2016 11:23 pm

Because two-handed weapons are metal as fuck.

User avatar
RedRover
I want you to be
I want you to be
Posts: 2651
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:36 pm
Location: CA
Contact:

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by RedRover » Mon Jan 18, 2016 11:26 pm

StarshipH wrote:Why would you ever use a 2-handed weapon on a minifig, when a size 2 melee weapon has lower use rating and identical damage?
I thought a size two melee weapon was 2 handed.

Short: 1d6
Heavy / Bastard: 1d6+2
Two-handed: 2d6

but I could be wrong.

User avatar
runnybabbit223
worth a try if your desprate
Posts: 429
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:19 pm
Location: Outside the Matrix

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by runnybabbit223 » Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:51 am

*CRAZYHORSE* wrote:
runnybabbit223 wrote: Oh, I usually will 'divert all power' into movement in order to traverse a large map, house rules I guess. :D
How would this be different from sprinting?
It's not, I even use sprinting rules.
3... 2... 1... DRAGONS!

User avatar
Gungnir
Jaw-Jaw
Posts: 996
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by Gungnir » Tue Jan 19, 2016 8:42 am

RedRover wrote:
StarshipH wrote:Why would you ever use a 2-handed weapon on a minifig, when a size 2 melee weapon has lower use rating and identical damage?
I thought a size two melee weapon was 2 handed.
It is. And they're both UR4.
BrikThulhu eats 1d6 minifigs each turn.

StarshipH
Nice Dubs
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:23 pm
Location: Death Star Exhaust Vent Maintenance Specialist Quarters

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by StarshipH » Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:24 am

Weapon Cost Use Range Damage Notes
Close Combat Weapons
Melee Weapon (Size x2) CP (Size +1) CC (Size) x Skill die


This would suggest that a Size 2 Close Combat Weapon would have use of (2+1) but a 2-handed weapon has a use of 4. :mystery:
Just the friendly neighborhood Anorak, nothing to see here.

User avatar
*CRAZYHORSE*
Mega Blok
Posts: 1348
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: Procrasturbating.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by *CRAZYHORSE* » Tue Jan 19, 2016 11:30 am

This is because the two-handed weapons are usually a lot longer than 2" and actually more around the 3"-4" range. So it's to balance out the fact that they have added range compared to actual 2" CC weapons.
Atleast this is the narrative Stubby made up afterwards to sweet talk the fact that the minifig weapons scaling didn't quite match up with the actual CC weapon formula.

I guess you could still give your minifigs actual 2" CC weapons. It would make sense for things such as big as swords such as zweihänders. Easier to strike with then a halberd but also has quite a lot less reach.
stubby wrote:You were inb4beluga.

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5175
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by stubby » Tue Jan 19, 2016 11:46 am

StarshipH wrote:When dropping a bomb, whats the Use rating? Does a bomb use up weapon inches when dropped from a creation?
  • When dropping bombs or other objects, Flying Vehicles may only target spots directly underneath their own flight path. Like other ranged attacks, the dropped object may end up off of that path due to a Missed Shot (5.3: Ranged Combat). The Use rating for aiming dropped objects is equal to either the object's Size or the distance of the drop in inches, whichever is greater.

    When dropping Explosives, remember that the Use rating is based on the object's physical Size rather than its Explosive Size. Because Explosive Size is determined by bricks rather than inches (8.1: Weapon Size), a Size 3 Explosive might only be a Size 1" object for dropping purposes.
  • In game terms, measurements of Explosive Size are treated exactly the same as inches of Weapon Size when counting against a Creation's Power limit.
I might still end up changing this last part, we'll see. Obviously you can't activate a bomb release hatch or trigger rocket launches if your Power is cut entirely, so I can't just make it simple and say that Explosives don't use Power inches. But it might make sense to say that if Explosives are launched out of a Launcher, then they use the Launcher's stats, and otherwise all Explosives have a Power requirement of 1" regardless of size.

StarshipH wrote:Could a size 0" half mind "fire-control system" trigger a bomb-rack mechanism to get around that?
Where you put the Mind has no effect on a weapon's Power requirements. Whether you're using a Mind built into the Explosive, or one on the bomb rack, or one in the Pilot sitting at the controls, all have the same effect.

StarshipH wrote:Would putting a half mind on a rocket allow it to fire itself, allowing the unit it was mounted on to preserve it's own inches?
If you made the rocket a Flying Vehicle with Explosives on the front, replacing its inches of Range with Flight Movement, then yes, it can provide its own Power. Otherwise the Power to aim and fire it still has to come from somewhere.

StarshipH wrote:Why would you ever use a 2-handed weapon on a minifig, when a size 2 melee weapon has lower use rating and identical damage?
Because 2H Weapons generally have a longer reach than size 2 melee weapons, sometimes significantly so.

*CRAZYHORSE* wrote:I guess you could still give your minifigs actual 2" CC weapons. It would make sense for things such as big as swords such as zweihänders. Easier to strike with then a halberd but also has quite a lot less reach.
I wonder if I should add a strict 2" Melee Weapon category into the Hand-Held Weapons section Chapter 8, to go in-between Heavy and 2H weapons. Or at least add a note about them.

Also I wonder if I should allow handheld polearms for larger creations that exceed the 2xSize limit, the way that 2H weapons do for minifigs.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

User avatar
RedRover
I want you to be
I want you to be
Posts: 2651
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:36 pm
Location: CA
Contact:

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by RedRover » Tue Jan 19, 2016 11:49 am

At the end of the day, you're to boss of your own toys.

As long as the person you are playing with agrees, you can do whatever.
Spoiler
Show
the above statement is intended as advice for brikwars and should not be taken as anything else. If one is to use said advice in other aspects of life, RedRover is not responsible for any consequences that may arise because of said actions. When playing with someone else to any degree, make sure you have consent. No cuddling.

Here is a poem I like:
There is a place where the sidewalk ends
And before the street begins,
And there the grass grows soft and white,
And there the sun burns crimson bright,
And there the moon-bird rests from his flight
To cool in the peppermint wind.

Let us leave this place where the smoke blows black
And the dark street winds and bends.
Past the pits where the asphalt flowers grow
We shall walk with a walk that is measured and slow,
And watch where the chalk-white arrows go
To the place where the sidewalk ends.

Yes we'll walk with a walk that is measured and slow,
And we'll go where the chalk-white arrows go,
For the children, they mark, and the children, they know
The place where the sidewalk ends.

If you are still reading this, bravo. PM me for a virtual cookie. Subject line: give me credit where credit is due.

User avatar
*CRAZYHORSE*
Mega Blok
Posts: 1348
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: Procrasturbating.

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by *CRAZYHORSE* » Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:31 pm

stubby wrote: I wonder if I should add a strict 2" Melee Weapon category into the Hand-Held Weapons section Chapter 8, to go in-between Heavy and 2H weapons. Or at least add a note about them.
That would be cool. Just a note would be fine I guess
stubby wrote:Also I wonder if I should allow handheld polearms for larger creations that exceed the 2xSize limit, the way that 2H weapons do for minifigs.
Nah it seems like it wouldn't even really come up often enough to be honest and would just add clutter to the book. Besides I don't think anybody would complain about a CC weapon that's over the 2x size limit as long as it is stats are limited to a 2x size CC weapon.
stubby wrote:You were inb4beluga.

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5175
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by stubby » Tue Jan 19, 2016 2:06 pm

*CRAZYHORSE* wrote:
stubby wrote:Also I wonder if I should allow handheld polearms for larger creations that exceed the 2xSize limit, the way that 2H weapons do for minifigs.
Nah it seems like it wouldn't even really come up often enough to be honest and would just add clutter to the book. Besides I don't think anybody would complain about a CC weapon that's over the 2x size limit as long as it is stats are limited to a 2x size CC weapon.
Well the twist would be that the 2xSize weapon wouldn't have all the 2H weapon's movement restrictions, but the >2xSize weapon still would.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

User avatar
stubby
tl;dr: the rule of fudge is the entire rulebook
Posts: 5175
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by stubby » Tue Jan 19, 2016 6:36 pm

I've planned to have an engineer ever since the long-lost NanoFleet Battles rules. His trick would be simple: he gets a d8 to transfer points from one stat to another, but he had to pick which stats before he rolls the d8. On an unlucky crit he might disable the source system completely.

Re: gunnery, a Gunner firing a rifle on a tripod could use his d8 skill, but you can never have more minifigs working on a weapon than the weapon size. A minifig rifle is weapon size 1, so there's no room for a second gunner to provide gunnery support.

For a sniper team you would use a Scout instead, using his ability to mark targets.
Natalya wrote:Wtf is going on in this thread?

StarshipH
Nice Dubs
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:23 pm
Location: Death Star Exhaust Vent Maintenance Specialist Quarters

Re: Newbish n00b questions, MkII

Post by StarshipH » Thu Jan 21, 2016 5:46 pm

stubby wrote: 106. Fire-linked weapons: single target, multiple Skill Rolls.
In Chapter 11, whats the difference between a Marksman and a Sniper?

My Marksmen are usually just Long-ranged weapon troops in a squad of size 1 Guns, and my Snipers tend to be heroes with the "It's not lime-ade" cliche.

How would you distinguish them?
Just the friendly neighborhood Anorak, nothing to see here.

Post Reply